Archives of Iowa Broadcasting
Finding Aid
KWWL Television Collection
Preface
The purpose of the Archives of Iowa Broadcasting is to establish and maintain a permanent collection of materials relating to the history, development and contribution of radio and television in Iowa.
The Archives is committed to providing access to holdings. However, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with the donors. Due to the complexity and variety of audiovisual formats, most items will need to be digitally duplicated or transferred before access can be provided.
Introduction
Abstract: Video recordings (1940; 1966; 1970; 1972-2008) – Contains broadcasts from the KWWL-TV new station that broadcasted all across Northeastern Iowa.
Scope and Content Note
Extent: 7,765 audiovisual items
Physical Description: Contains audiovisual items (film, U-matic, Betacam, MII, VHS, DVD, DVCPRO) of broadcasts.
Dates: 1940; 1966; 1970; 1972-2008
Subjects: Subjects include broadcasts from Grant Price, and Craig Johnson. Some broadcasts about R.J. McElroy, the founder of the station, and Harry Slife, a prominent station director.
Related Material:
Administrative Information
Restrictions: Some materials in this collection may be restricted under copyright. The Archives provides access to these items for the purpose of research, instruction, and private study under the provisions of Faire Use, outlined in section 107 of copyright law. User assumes all responsibility for obtaining permission for reproduction or use.
Preferred Citation: [item title/description], [date]; KWWL Television Collection; Wartburg College Archives, Waverly, Iowa.
Acquisition Information: Donation
Processing Information: Processing completed by GC and LY on 9/4/19.
Biographical Sketch/Agency History
History: KWWL-TV began as KWWL-AM in 1947. The company became a TV station in 1953. The station was an NBC affiliate station for years of its broadcasting until the company was bought by AFLAC in 1980. KWWL-TV continued to progress with the times switching from analog to digital and now to high definition. The station continues to provide news for Northeast Iowa.
Timeline: KWWL-AM is founded – 1947. KWWL-TV is founded – 1953. KWWL-TV is bought by AFLAC – 1980. KWWL-TV begins broadcasting in digital – 2002. KWWL is sold to Raycom Media – 2004. Quincy Newspapers Incorporated buys KWWL – 2006. KWWL broadcasts the first high definition broadcast in eastern Iowa – 2010.
Bibliography:
Sloan, Travis. “KWWL History,” News 7 KWWL, https://kwwl.com/news/2018/06/04/kwwl-history/
Series Description
Other Finding Aids
None.
|
For more information, contact: Kay Grigsby, MSLIS
|
 |
Invest in AIB's future
Your generous gift will help sustain the Archives of Iowa Broadcasting, assuring that this a one-of-a-kind collection will be available to future generations.
|
Vogel Library, Wartburg College | 100 Wartburg Blvd, Waverly, IA, 50677 | Phone: 319-352-8500 | Email: asklibrarian@wartburg.edu
