Archives of Iowa Broadcasting
Finding Aid
KCHA Radio
Preface
The purpose of the Archives of Iowa Broadcasting is to establish and maintain a permanent collection of materials relating to the history, development and contribution of radio and television in Iowa.
The Archives is committed to providing access to holdings. However, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with the donors. Due to the complexity and variety of audiovisual formats, most items will need to be digitally duplicated or transferred before access can be provided.
Introduction
Abstract: This collection includes audio recordings from KCHA Radio in Charles City, IA. Notable topics include coverage of the 1968 Charles City/Oelwein F5 tornado, and a Sue McDonnell radio spot, and items date from 1953, 1968, 1971, 1996, and 2000. These recordings are preserved on reel-to-reel audio tape, audio cassette, CDs, and 78 rpm records.
Scope and Content Note
Extent: 8 A/V items
Physical Description: Audiocassette, ¼ inch reel-to-reel audio tape, LP record, compact disc, paper
Dates: 1953- 2000
Subjects:
Related Material:
Administrative Information
Restrictions: Some materials in this collection may be restricted under copyright. The Archives provides access to these items for the purpose of research, instruction, and private study under the provisions of Faire Use, outlined in section 107 of copyright law. User assumes all responsibility for obtaining permission for reproduction or use.
Preferred Citation: [item title/description], [date]; KCHA Radio; Wartburg College Archives, Waverly, Iowa.
Acquisition Information: Donation
Processing Information: Processing completed by GC on 9/21/2018.
Agency History
History: KCHA Radio is a radio station based out of Charles City, Iowa. The station’s target audience is Northeast Iowa adult listeners with musical tastes such as contemporary, oldies, and country music genres.
Bibliography:
“KCHA Story,” KCHA News. https://kchanews.com/kcha-story
Series Description
Audio Recordings
Audio Recordings:
Container Listing
|
Format |
Series |
Content |
Date |
|
Cassette |
Audio |
Sue McDonnell- Iowa- Radio Spot |
1996 |
|
LP |
Audio |
Oldsmobile 1953 Radio Spots |
1953 |
|
¼” reel |
Audio |
KCHA broadcast– Charles City/Oelwein tornado damage |
5/15/1968 |
|
¼” reel |
Audio |
KCHA broadcast- Charles City/Oelwein tornado damage (day after) |
5/16/1968 |
|
LP |
Audio |
Kioa Presents: Solid Gold- All Time Golden Greats Sides 1 and 2 |
1971 |
|
LP |
Audio |
Kioa Presents: Solid Gold- All Time Golden Greats Sides 3 and 4 |
1971 |
|
CD |
Audio |
DEMO 2000 V.2.0 (A) |
2000 |
|
CD |
Audio |
DEMO 2000 V.2.0 (B) |
2000 |
Other Finding Aids
None.
|
For more information, contact: Kay Grigsby, MSLIS
|
 |
Invest in AIB's future
Your generous gift will help sustain the Archives of Iowa Broadcasting, assuring that this a one-of-a-kind collection will be available to future generations.
|
Vogel Library, Wartburg College | 100 Wartburg Blvd, Waverly, IA, 50677 | Phone: 319-352-8500 | Email: asklibrarian@wartburg.edu
