These are just a few examples of encyclopedias in Reference.
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Medieval World
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe
Encyclopedia of medieval philosophy
Great lives from history. The Middle Ages, 477-1453
New Oxford History of Music : The Early Middle Ages to 1300
European authors, 1000-1900; a biographical dictionary of European literatureGreat events from history : ancient and medieval seriesBrowse for ideas or use as starting points for keywords and recommended sources.
Credo Reference searches over 600 encyclopedias; give this a try, too:
Oxford Reference Online searches dozens of Oxford-published encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia Britannica is one general encyclopedia and can get you started on where to go next:
Oxford Music Online combines three major print dictionaries--Grove Dictionary of Music and two Oxford music encyclopedias--into one database. If you have a musician or musical idea, this might be useful.
These are country-specific encyclopedias (only England is on the 1st floor).
Medieval England : an encyclopedia
Medieval France : an encyclopedia
Medieval Italy : an encyclopedia
Medieval Germany : an encyclopedia
Medieval Ireland : An Encyclopedia
Medieval Iberia : an encyclopedia
Medieval Islamic Civilization: An Encyclopedia
Medieval Scandinavia : an encyclopediaThese are just a few examples of encyclopedias on the 1st floor.
Key Figures in Medieval Europe: An Encycolpedia
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine : An EncyclopediaMedieval England : an encyclopediaLarousse encyclopedia of ancient and medieval history
Trade, travel, and exploration in the Middle Ages : an encyclopediaThe atlas of medieval man
Medieval art : a topical dictionary
Atlas of the medieval worldVogel Library, Wartburg College | 100 Wartburg Blvd, Waverly, IA, 50677 | Phone: 319-352-8500 | Email: asklibrarian@wartburg.edu