Skip to Main Content

Wartburg College Archives: History of Wartburg College (pre-1935)

Wartburg College Archives is responsible for the collection and preservation of records that document the college’s history, development, operation, policies, people, activities, and events.

Wartburg College Archives

Finding Aid

Special Collections - Photograph Collection - History of Wartburg College

Photographs- History- Wartburg College:

  • Photographs. 1852-1936; 1998. Includes historical photographs defined as pre-1935, when Wartburg College permanently settled in Waverly, IA. Locations: Clinton, IA; Eureka, SD; Galena, IL; Hebron, NE; Saginaw, MI; Mendota, IL; St. Sebald, IA; Names: Wartburg Seminary, Wartburg Academy, Wartburg Teachers College, Wartburg Normal College, Wartburg College

  • Extent: 45 Folders.

  • Arranged alphabetically (minimal), then chronologically (if pre-1935), thereunder geographically, and geographically.

Container Listing

Drawer

Folder

Content

Date

1

1

(History pre-1935) Hebron, NE

 

1

2

Loehe, Wilhelm (article about great-great-great niece)

1980s

1

3

Saginaw, Michigan (copy of original photo- first building housed Wartburg Seminary); 125th Anniversary)

1852-1853

1

4

Dubuque, Iowa (Warburg Theological Seminary 1880s, 125th Anniversary 1970s)

1853-1857

1

5

St. Sebald, Iowa (pics of buildings; students 1862-1863)

1857-1868

1

6

Galena, Illinois

1868 -1875

1

7

Mendota, Illinois (contemporary; 1884; inspiration of Waverly Old Main; 1970s photos of old site; Lutheran Cemetery burial sites of past college presidents Fritschel, Proehl)

1875-1885

1

8

Eureka, South Dakota- Eureka Lutheran College- Buildings (contemporary)

1924, 1981

1

9

Eureka, South Dakota- Eureka Lutheran College- Faculty/Staff/Students (wood backing; contemporary; Lutheran Sunday School in German Honolulu, HI)

1914-1929

1

10

Eureka, South Dakota- Eureka Lutheran College- Music (band- contemporary)

1914-1928

1

11

Eureka, South Dakota- Eureka Lutheran College- Sports

1916-1928

1

12

Hebron, Nebraska

 

1

13

St. Paul Luther (Sports 1924-1934; Seminary (Afton, MN 1885-1902)

1885-1934

1

14

Clinton, Iowa [1894-1935]

1911-1933

1

15

Clinton, Iowa Academic Life

1907-1932

1

16

Clinton, Iowa Buildings

1903-1930

1

17

Clinton, Iowa Buildings- Chapel

1920-1932

1

18

Clinton, Iowa Buildings- Cotta House

11/5/1922-1923

1

19

Clinton, Iowa Buildings- Library

1903-1925

1

20

Clinton, Iowa Buildings- Old Main

1893-1932, 1994

1

21

Clinton, Iowa Buildings- Old Main demolition 8/1998

8/1998

1

22

Clinton, Iowa Commencement

 

1

23

Clinton, Iowa Dining Services

1905

1

24

Clinton, Iowa Faculty/Staff  Alumni Reunion 1966

1900-1931

1

25

Clinton, Iowa Kraushaar, Otto Photo Album 1904

1904

1

26

Clinton, Iowa Music (all contemporary)

1911-1935

1

27

Clinton, Iowa Sports- Baseball (contemporary, w/backing)

1905-1934

1

28

Clinton, Iowa Sports- Basketball (Men) (contemporary; w/backing)

1917-1932

1

29

Clinton, Iowa Sports- Basketball (Women) (contemporary)

1931

1

30

Clinton, Iowa Sports- Football (contemporary, w/backing)

1903, 1931-1932

1

31

Clinton, Iowa Sports- Gym Team (contemporary, w/backing)

1901/7, 1923-24, 1934

1

32

Clinton, Iowa Sports- Tennis

1934

1

33

Clinton, Iowa Student Life

1925-1930, 1934

1

34

Clinton, Iowa Student Organizations

1925-1932

1

35

Clinton, Iowa Students

1883-1932

1

36

Waverly, Iowa- Buildings (metal; houses once Wartburg College in 1880s (non-contemporary); Wartburg Normal College [1932])

1880s-1932

1

37

Waverly, Iowa- Faculty

1893-1912

1

38

Waverly, Iowa- Music- Band (wood-backing; contemporary; College Bank, Wartburg Teachers Seminary Band)

1898-1915

1

39

Waverly, Iowa- Music- Chorus/Orchestra (Wartburg/Lutheran Male Chorus)/ Wartburg College Orchestra

1934-1936; 1926-1928

1

40

Waverly, Iowa Outfly

1910-1927

1

41

Waverly, Iowa Sports (photos: contemporary, photocopies, postcard / backing); ID (1887-1933, no ID (1902-1932)

1912-1931

1

42

Waverly, Iowa Students (photos: contemporary, photocopies, postcard /backing)

1887-1933

3

43

(Wartburg Theological Seminary) Dubuque, Iowa

1916

 

44

History

 

 

45

historic, collage

 

Photograph Collection

  1. Academic Departments
    1. Art
    2. Biochemistry, Chemistry, and Engineering
    3. Biology
    4. Business Administration, Accounting, and Economics
    5. Education
    6. English and Modern Languages
    7. Health and Physical Education
    8. History
    9. Home Economics
    10. Industrial Arts
    11. Intercultural Studies
    12. Journalism and Communication (Communication Arts)
    13. Leadership Institute
    14. Mathematics, Computer Science, and Physics
    15. Miscellaneous
    16. Music
      1. Choral Ensembles
      2. General
      3. Instrumental Ensembles
      4. Workshops, Recitals, and Festivals
    17. Religion and Philosophy
    18. Social Sciences
    19. Social Work
  2. Campus Offices
    1. Board of Regents and President's Office
    2. Dean of the Chapel
    3. Academic Affairs (VP) & Dean of the Faculty
    4. Academic Affairs- Wartburg College Libraries
    5. Enrollment Management (VP)
    6. Finance and Administration (VP)
    7. Institutional Advancement (VP)
    8. Marketing and Communication (VP)
    9. Student Life (VP) & Dean of Students
  3. Campus Life
    1. Drama
      1. 1950-1959
      2. 1960-1969
      3. 1970-1979
      4. 1980-1989
      5. 1990-1999
      6. 2000-2009
      7. Date not Identified
    2. Christmas Celebrations
    3. Concerts
    4. Conferences
    5. Wartburg College Ceremonies & Traditions
    6. Artist Series, Lectures, Festivals, and Political Visits; "Community Life"
    7. Miscellaneous
  4. Students
    1. Honor Societies
    2. Media & Publications
    3. Academic & Professional Organizations
    4. Social Awareness
    5. Scholarships and Awards
    6. Spiritual Life
    7. General
    8. Service & Interests Organizations
    9. Events
    10. Sports & Sports Associated
  5. Buildings & Grounds
    1. Academic and Administrative Buildings
    2. Art on Campus
    3. The Chapel
    4. Miscellaneous
    5. Libraries
    6. President's House
    7. Sports & Gyms
    8. Student Residential Facilities
  6. Faculty & Staff
  7. Lutheran Church
  8. History of Wartburg College (pre-1935)
  9. Athletics
    1. Baseball
    2. Basketball
    3. Cheerleading
    4. Cross Country
    5. Football
    6. Golf
    7. Soccer
    8. Softball
    9. Tennis
    10. Track & Field
    11. Volleyball
    12. Wrestling
    13. Other
    14. General 

Invest in Wartburg College Archives' future

Wartburg College Archives

Kay Grigsby, MSLIS
Grant Price Endowed Archivist
kay.grigsby@wartburg.edu
(319) 352-8457

Vogel Library, Wartburg College   |   100 Wartburg Blvd, Waverly, IA, 50677 |   Phone: 319-352-8500   | Email: asklibrarian@wartburg.edu