LibGuides: Wartburg College Archives: Operations & Maintenance

Wartburg College Archives

Finding Aid

Campus Offices – Operations and Maintenance Department Collection

Preface

The Wartburg College Archives is responsible for the collection and preservation of records that document the college’s history, development, operation, policies, people, activities, and events.

The Archives is committed to providing access to holdings. However, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with the donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-print materials. In such circumstances arrangements may have to be made for digital duplication or transfer to occur before access can be provided.

Introduction

Abstract: Records (1866-2016) of the Operations and Maintenance Department, regarding various Wartburg buildings, maintenance, blueprints, and sustainability. Collection includes audiovisual items documenting buildings’ and projects’ development.

Scope and Content Note

Extent: 82 boxes and 15 audiovisual items.

Physical Description: Materials include paper as well as audiovisual materials such as VHS, audio reels, 16mm, and Betacam.

Dates: 1866-2016.

Subjects: Architecture, Construction, Blueprints, Sustainability, Recycling, Maintenance

Related Material:

Development Office Collection
Photograph Collection: Students: Social Awareness
Photograph Collection: Students: Service & Interests Organizations
Photograph Collection: Buildings & Grounds: Academic and Administrative Buildings
Photograph Collection: Buildings & Grounds: The Chapel
Photograph Collection: Buildings & Grounds: Miscellaneous
Photograph Collection: Buildings & Grounds: Libraries
Photograph Collection: Buildings & Grounds: Sports & Gyms
Photograph Collection: Buildings & Grounds: Student Residential Facilities
Student Activities Collection

Administrative Information

Restrictions: None.

Preferred Citation: [item title/description], [date]; Operations and Maintenance Department Collection; Wartburg College Archives, Waverly, Iowa.

Acquisition Information: Transfer.

Processing Information: Processing completed by SP and LY on 5/15/2019.

Biographical Sketch/Agency History

History: Wartburg College campus spans 118 acres. Within these acres are a variety of buildings, suited for classrooms, living accommodations, and recreational opportunities. Wartburg’s campus is unique in that much of the campus is connected by a system of second-story skyways and covered walkways. The oldest building on campus is Old Main, constructed in 1880. The newest building is the Wartburg-Waverly Wellness Center, built in 2009.

Warburg has reached high levels of success in regards to sustainability. Under the Sustainability Tracking, Assessment & Rating System (STARS), Wartburg has been given a gold rating, and has achieved the honor of being the second private school in the Midwest and ninth in the nation to achieve this rating. Some of the projects that contributed to this achievement include installing water bottle filters around campus, and partnering with local energy utility to fund a wind turbine to offset the Wartburg-Waverly Sports & Wellness Center’s energy consumption.

Bibliography:

Sustainability. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.wartburg.edu/sustainability/.

The Facilities. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://catalog.wartburg.edu/content.php?catoid=4&navoid=195.

Series Description

Buildings
Maintenance
Blueprints
Sustainability
Audiovisual Materials

Buildings:

Records regarding various buildings on Wartburg campus. Dates from 1866-2016.
26 boxes.
Boxes are arranged alphabetically by building/structure.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
1	1	Buildings	Project Cornerstone Alumni Fundraising Campaign	1964
1	2	Buildings	Architects Drawings	1964
1	3	Buildings	Architects Drawings	1964
1	4	Buildings	Architects Drawings	1964
1	5	Buildings	Architects Drawings	1965
1	6	Buildings	Architects Drawings	1964
1	7	Buildings	Audio- Visual Equipment	1966-1967
1	8	Buildings	Basic Facts
1	9	Buildings	Brochure
1	10	Buildings	Committee on Dedication Minutes	1967
1	11	Buildings	Congratulatory Letters and Greetings	1967
1	12	Buildings	Cost Estimates	1963
1	13	Buildings	Dedication	1967
1	14	Buildings	Dedication Speech by Harold C. Urey	1967
1	15	Buildings	Electrical Contract Specifications
1	16	Buildings	Equipment	1963
1	17	Buildings	Fundraising Brochure	1990
1	18	Buildings	Fundraising Committees
1	19	Buildings	Groundbreaking	1966
1	20	Buildings	Incentive Committee Minutes	1964
1	21	Buildings	Planetarium	1969
1	22	Buildings	Position Vacancies	1988
1	23	Buildings	Resolutions- Board of Regents	1960
1	24	Buildings	Construction
1	25	Buildings	Scanning Electron Microscope	1995-1996
1	26	Buildings	Science Building Committee	1957
1	27	Buildings	Science Department Heads Meetings	1966
1	28	Buildings	Science Faculty Offices	1967-1968
1	29	Buildings	Service of Entrance	1967
1	30	Buildings	Special Interest Committee	1964
1	31	Buildings	Voecks Auditorium- Dedication	1969
2	1	Buildings	Centennial Hall: Correspondence	1946
2	2	Buildings	Centennial Hall: Dedication Program	1954
2	3	Buildings	Centennial Hall: Development Brochure
2	4	Buildings	Centennial Hall: Finances	1953
2	5	Buildings	Centennial Hall: Groundbreaking Exercises	1953
2	6	Buildings	Classroom Technology Center (Rada- Aleff)	1995
2	7	Buildings	Clinton Hall: Contracts	1957
2	8	Buildings	Clinton Hall: Dedication Program	1958
2	9	Buildings	Clinton Hall: Wartville Post	1987
2	10	Buildings	Clinton Hall Addition: Correspondence	1964
2	11	Buildings	Clinton Hall Addition Dedication Program	1966
2	12	Buildings	Clinton Hall: Renovation	2016
3	1	Buildings	Danforth Chapel “The Danforth Chapel Program in the Public American Campus” by Margaret M. Grubiak
3	2	Buildings	Dedicatory Organ Recital	1996
3	3	Buildings	Drawings
3	4	Buildings	Fundraising	1993-1994
3	5	Buildings	Fundraising- Correspondence	1992
3	6	Buildings	The Groundbreaking Ceremony	1992
3	7	Buildings	Magazine Articles	1994-1996
3	8	Buildings	Newspaper Articles	1989-1992
3	9	Buildings	Note Cards	1996
3	10	Buildings	Self-Guided Tour and Introduction (Brochure), N.D.	1994
3	11	Buildings	Service of Dedication- Oct. 30, 1994 Pool of Remembrance Dedication	1995
3	12	Buildings	Sesquicentennial Vignette	2001
3	13	Buildings	Chapel and Chaplaincy Council Minutes	1995
4	1	Buildings	Cornerstone	1956
4	2	Buildings	Correspondence	1955-1957
4	3	Buildings	Dedication	1956
4	4	Buildings	Development Brochure	1956
4	5	Buildings	Organ Directory Recital	1960
4	6	Buildings	Excerpts from the Greg Haley thesis	1969
4	7	Buildings	Art Building Addition: Architect; Architect Drawings
4	8	Buildings	Art Building Addition: Correspondence	1965-1972
4	9	Buildings	Art Building Addition: Title I Application	1969
4	10	Buildings	Art Building Addition: Dedication	1971
4	11	Buildings	Art Building Addition: Press Releases	1970
4	12	Buildings	Architect Draft of Program and Sketches	1988
4	13	Buildings	Development Brochures	1990
4	14	Buildings	Groundbreaking	1990
4	15	Buildings	Dedication	1991
4	16	Buildings	Newspaper Clippings	1991
4	17	Buildings	Waldemar A. Schmidt Gallery Dedication	1995
4	18	Buildings	Naming Dedication Ceremony	2004
5	1	Buildings	President’s Home	1987
5	2	Buildings	Brochure
5	3	Buildings	Newspaper Clippings	1988
5	4	Buildings	Wartburg Magazine Article	1987
6	1	Buildings	Boys Dormitory- Buttons
6	2	Buildings	Boys Dormitory Contract Agreement for Electric Work and Signal System R.W. Brayton	1919
6	3	Buildings	Boys Dormitory Contract Agreement for General Construction Braun Bros.	1919
6	4	Buildings	Boys Dormitory Contract Agreement for Heating, Ventilating & Plumbing P.J. Gallagher	1919
6	5	Buildings	Boys Dormitory Contractors’ Bonds	1919
6	6	Buildings	Boys Dormitory Kirchenblatt Article	1919
6	7	Buildings	Boys Dormitory Order for Extra Work	1919
6	8	Buildings	Boys Dormitory Proposal Boys’ Dormitory Building General Construction Submitted by Braun Bros.	1919
6	9	Buildings	Boys Dormitory Propose Change- General Estimate Braun Bros	1919
6	10	Buildings	Boys Dormitory Specifications for Boy’s Dormitory Building
6	11	Buildings	Boys Dormitory Specifications of the Material and Labor J.F. Leitha, Architect	1912
7	1	Buildings	Contract Agreement	1919
7	2	Buildings	Bids for Plumbing and Heating	1912
7	3	Buildings	Contractor Agreement for Plumbing and Heating	1912
7	4	Buildings	Weekly Report of Contractor’s Work	1919
7	5	Buildings	Finances	1920
7	6	Buildings	Dedication Program	1920
8	1	Buildings	Architect’s Rendering	1947
8	2	Buildings	Bids	1947
8	3	Buildings	Contractor Agreement- Fane F. Fawter & Company	1948
8	4	Buildings	Contract Agreement- Wayne D. Thieking
8	5	Buildings	Contractor Certificate of Insurance	1948
8	6	Buildings	Cornerstone Program	1948
8	7	Buildings	Correspondence	1946
8	8	Buildings	Correspondence	1947
8	9	Buildings	Correspondence	1948
8	10	Buildings	Dedication Concert	1949-1950
8	11	Buildings	Correspondence	1949
8	12	Buildings	Dedication- Guest Book	1949
8	13	Buildings	Dedication Program	1949
8	14	Buildings	Farewell Program	2006
8	15	Buildings	Dedication Week Committee Minutes	1949
8	16	Buildings	Equipment Needs
8	17	Buildings	Finances	1949
8	18	Buildings	First Year Events	1949
8	19	Buildings	First Year Events- Basketball
8	20	Buildings	First Volleyball Season	1975-1976
8	21	Buildings	First Women’s Basketball Season	1974-1975
8	22	Buildings	Groundbreaking Program	1948
8	23	Buildings	Newspaper Articles	1949-2006
8	24	Buildings	Policies for Scheduling
8	25	Buildings	Pool Consultant	1987
8	26	Buildings	Rental Agreement- Wartburg College and Waverly High School	1949
9	1	Buildings	Knights Village
9	2	Buildings	Lohe Hall
9	3	Buildings	Maintenance and Garage	1951
9	4	Buildings	Manors- Bids	1967
9	5	Buildings	Manors-Contract Agreement
9	6	Buildings	Manors-Correspondence	1965
9	7	Buildings	Manors- Dedication Program	1969
9	8	Buildings	Request for Approval of Income-Producing Capital Project	1966-1967
9	9	Buildings	Soil Testing	1965
9	10	Buildings	McElroy Communication Arts Center Dedication Brochure	1992
9	11	Buildings	McElroy Communication Arts Center Dedication- Invitation	1992
9	12	Buildings	McElroy Communication Arts Center Dedication- Publicity	1992
9	13	Buildings	McElroy Communication Arts Center Dedication speech by Harold Kurtz “Why we rejoice today”
9	14	Buildings	McElroy Communication Arts Center Service of Dedication	1992
9	15	Buildings	McElroy Communication Arts Center: Miscellaneous	1992
9	16	Buildings	McElroy Communication Arts Center: Newspaper Clippings	1989
10	1	Buildings	Agreement Between Contractor and Owner (Lauritzen Construction Co. General Contractor)	1925
10	2	Buildings	Agreement Between Contractor and Owner (Peter Johnson Heating + Sons, Inc.)	1925
10	3	Buildings	Agreement Between Owner and Architect (Mortimer B. Cleveland of Waterloo, Iowa)	1925
10	4	Buildings	Contractor Agreement- W.G. Ackles (Painting)	1925
10	5	Buildings	Contractor Agreement- Waterloo Tile + Marble Co.	1925
10	6	Buildings	Cornerstone Laying	1925
10	7	Buildings	Specification for General Contractors Work June	1925
10	8	Buildings	Groundbreaking Ceremony for South Wing Addition
10	9	Buildings	Floor Plans
10	10	Buildings	Addition- Blueprints
10	11	Buildings	Addition- Correspondence	1929
10	12	Buildings	Luther Hall Addition and President’s Residence Dedication	1951
10	13	Buildings	Luther Hall Addition Donors	1951
10	14	Buildings	Renovation and Remodeling Plans	1966
10	15	Buildings	Remodeling of Third Floor	1988
11	1	Buildings	Address by Arthur R. Neumann Naming Ceremony	1966
11	2	Buildings	Article- Wartburg Bulletin September	1960
11	3	Buildings	Bids	1958
11	4	Buildings	Construction- Correspondence	1958
11	5	Buildings	Dedication	1960
11	6	Buildings	Development Brochures	1960
11	7	Buildings	General Information	1990
11	8	Buildings	Improvements	1981
11	9	Buildings	Informational Brochure
11	10	Buildings	Meeting Notes	1958
11	11	Buildings	Organ- Dedication Recital	1967
11	12	Buildings	Reservation Forms	1993-1994
11	13	Buildings	Seating
11	14	Buildings	Sound System	1973
11	15	Buildings	Summary of Costs
11	16	Buildings	Buildings- North Hall	1952
12	1	Buildings	Article	1880
12	2	Buildings	Article- Kirchenblatt (Translation)	1893
12	3	Buildings	Article: “Old Main” by Elaine main Wartburg magazine, Summer p. 11-15	1984
12	4	Buildings	Centennial	1880-1980
12	5	Buildings	“Old Main “by Gerhard Ottersberg	1982
12	6	Buildings	Note Cards
12	7	Buildings	Rededication Program	1986
12	8	Buildings	Rededication Program- “Reflections on Old Main” William H. Engelbrecht	1986
12	9	Buildings	Reflections	1929
12	10	Buildings	Renovation- Architect Schematic Design Thorson Brom Broshar Snyder	1981
12	11	Buildings	Renovation-Architects’ Report- Preliminary Pages	1983
12	12	Buildings	Renovation- Architect Schematic Design Brown Healey Bock	1985
12	13	Buildings	Contract Specifications	1988
12	14	Buildings	Renovation- Development Brochure Presentation for Lorna Wissink
12	15	Buildings	Newspaper Clippings	1976-1986
13	1	Buildings	Groundbreaking Ceremonies	1977
13	2	Buildings	Dedication Ceremony	1978
13	3	Buildings	Development Brochure
13	4	Buildings	Knights Sports Club Classes and Programs
13	5	Buildings	Knights Sports Club Membership Application	1982-1983
13	6	Buildings	Knights Sports Club Membership Cards	1992-1995
13	7	Buildings	KSC/PEC Newsletter	2000-2001
13	8	Buildings	Knights Sport Club Policies and Rules	1982-1983
13	9	Buildings	Position Vacancies
13	10	Buildings	Roof, P.E. Facility	1979
13	11	Buildings	Knights Sports Club Press Releases	1997-1998
13	12	Buildings	Knights Sports Club Sign – In Sheets	1994-1997
13	13	Buildings	Scheduled Events	1978-2003
14	1	Buildings	Brochure: Self- Guided Tour	2004
14	2	Buildings	Dedication Program Fall Disk	2004
14	3	Buildings	Development	2010
14	4	Buildings	Fundraising
14	5	Buildings	Groundbreaking Ceremony	2002
14	6	Buildings	Names	2004
14	7	Buildings	Otto Science Hall	2014
14	8	Buildings	Year 2 Reorganization Committee Minutes	2002

15	1	Buildings	Saemann Student Center	2004
15	2	Buildings	Addition and Renovation Groundbreaking Ceremony	2002
15	3	Buildings	Annual Report	2005-2006
15	4	Buildings	Auditorium – McCaskey Auditorium	2004
15	5	Buildings	Conference and Convention Information	2004
15	6	Buildings	Dedication Program	2004
15	7	Buildings	Floor Plan	2004
15	8	Buildings	The Hub	2004
15	9	Buildings	Mail Center	2004
15	10	Buildings	Press Releases	2004
15	11	Buildings	Report and Recommendations	1995
15	12	Buildings	Self-Guided Tour	2004
15	13	Buildings	Staff	2005
15	14	Buildings	Student Center Council	2004
15	15	Buildings	Student Center Council Minutes	2004
15	16	Buildings	Student Center Council Minutes	2004-2005
15	17	Buildings	Student Center Council Minutes	2005-2006
15	18	Buildings	Student Center Council	2007-2008
16	1	Buildings	Student Union	1999
16	2	Buildings	Alumni Resolution to Board of Regents
16	3	Buildings	Annual Report	2003-2004
16	4	Buildings	“Book of Remembrance” Donors	1955
16	5	Buildings	Brochure
16	6	Buildings	Buhr Lounge	1965
16	7	Buildings	Bulletin Board
16	8	Buildings	Christmas Vacation Hours	1981
16	9	Buildings	Committee on Furnishing the Student Union
16	10	Buildings	Danforth Chapel Program History	2013
16	11	Buildings	Correspondence	1954–1960
16	12	Buildings	Danforth Chapel: Alumni Focus Group Transcript	2001
16	13	Buildings	Danforth Chapel: Focus Group	2001
16	14	Buildings	Danforth Chapel: Focus Group Questions and Answers	2001
16	15	Buildings	Danforth Chapel Controversy	2001
16	16	Buildings	Danforth Chapel – Dedication Program	1955
16	17	Buildings	Dedication Program	1955
16	18	Buildings	Address for Dedication by Pastor L.G. Fritschel	1955
16	19	Buildings	Dedication Program for Addition	1964
16	20	Buildings	Development Brochure
16	21	Buildings	Floor Plans
16	22	Buildings	Groundbreaking Ceremony	1954
16	23	Buildings	Information Desk, Security and ID System
16	24	Buildings	Lair Agreement	1997-1998
16	25	Buildings	Lounge Reservation	1997-1998
16	26	Buildings	Mail Services Forms	1994
16	27	Buildings	Mail Services Memos	1979-1994
16	28	Buildings	Meeting Facilities
16	29	Buildings	Student Union and Campus Reservations	1968
16	30	Buildings	Student Union Council
16	31	Buildings	Student Union Council Candlelight Dinners	1997-1998
16	32	Buildings	Student Union Council Memos	2001
16	33	Buildings	Student Union Council Suggestion Form	2002-2003
16	34	Buildings	Student Union Council Union Student Managers	2000
16	35	Buildings	“Taking Wing” – Mobile in Student Union Newspaper Article	1990
16	36	Buildings	Telephone Console Student Operator Handbook	2001-2001
16	37	Buildings	The Union Chronicle Student Center Chronicle November	2003
17	1	Buildings	Architects Contacts
17	2	Buildings	Contract Bond	1913
17	3	Buildings	Contract – Renovation Drape Construction Company	1946
17	4	Buildings	Correspondence	1914
17	5	Buildings	Dedication Programs	1913
17	6	Buildings	Proposal of Electric Wiring C.E. Mackey H.B. Matthews	1913
17	7	Buildings	Wartburg Hall Demise	1983
18	1	Buildings	Contents	194
18	2	Buildings	Contents	1919
18	3	Buildings	Catalog of Wartburg Teachers’ Seminary and Academy for 1918 -1919	1918-1919
18	4	Buildings	Gospel of St. John
18	5	Buildings	Letter Signed by August Engelbrecht July 29, 1919	1919
18	6	Buildings	Das Neue Testament Unfers herrn und Heilandes Jesu Christi nach der deutschen Ueberfezung D. Martin Luthers 1896	1896
18	7	Buildings	Photographs – Student body at Wartburg Teachers Seminary – September 23, 1919	1919
18	8	Buildings	Synodal – Konstitution der Evangelisch Lutherischen 1909 Synode von Iowa und andern staaten	1909
18	9	Buildings	Views of Wartburg Teachers‘ Seminary and Academy
18	10	Buildings	Cornerstone Laying June 8, 1913	1913
18	11	Buildings	Cornerstone Laying Article in Kirchenblatt
19	1	Buildings	Wartburg- Waverly Sports and Wellness Center	2007-2008
19	2	Buildings	Admissions Publicity
19	3	Buildings	Architectural Plans November 18, 2005
19	4	Buildings	Awards	2012
19	5	Buildings	“BEGIN” Weight Management	2009
19	6	Buildings	Blue Zone	2011
19	7	Buildings	Campus Events	2009
19	8	Buildings	Canfield Strength and Conditioning Room Naming Ceremony
19	9	Buildings	Classes	2009
19	10	Buildings	Community Appreciation Day	2010
19	11	Buildings	Community Events	2008-2009
19	12	Buildings	Community Health and Wellness Fair	2008
19	13	Buildings	Dedication October 18, 2008	2008
19	14	Buildings	Development Brochures (Fundraising)
19	15	Buildings	Groundbreaking May 26, 2006	2006
19	16	Buildings	H1N1 Virus	2006
19	17	Buildings	Hoover Field House and Track	2008
19	18	Buildings	Information Sessions	2005
19	19	Buildings	Intramurals	2008
19	20	Buildings	Junior FIT Club	2008
19	21	Buildings	Kurtt Office Suite Naming Ceremony	1961-1993
19	22	Buildings	Levick Arena Naming Ceremony
19	23	Buildings	Lunch n’ Learn Series	2009
19	24	Buildings	Membership	2007
19	25	Buildings	Noah Campus Health Clinic	2007
19	26	Buildings	Personnel	2007
19	27	Buildings	Pool	2008
19	28	Buildings	Press Releases	2007
19	29	Buildings	Self-Guided Tour
19	30	Buildings	Student Health Fair	2008
19	31	Buildings	Ultimate You Program
19	32	Buildings	Update 2005	2005
19	33	Buildings	Update from the W	2007-2008
19	34	Buildings	Update from the W	2008-2009
19	35	Buildings	Update from the W	2009-2010
19	36	Buildings	Update from the W	2010-2011
19	37	Buildings	Update from the w	2011-2012
19	38	Buildings	Update from the W	2012-2013
19	39	Buildings	Update from the W	2013-2014
19	40	Buildings	Update from the W	2014-2015
19	41	Buildings	Walk for Wishes	2009
19	42	Buildings	Walker Wrestling Room Naming Ceremony	2008
19	43	Buildings	Wartburg Wellness Program	2009
19	44	Buildings	Wartburg Wellness Watcher	2007-2008
19	45	Buildings	Wartburg Wellness Watcher	2008-2009
19	46	Buildings	Wartburg Wellness Watcher	2009-2010
19	47	Buildings	Wartburg Wellness Watcher	2010-2011
19	48	Buildings	Wartburg Wellness Watcher	2011-2012
19	49	Buildings	Wartburg Wellness Watcher	2012-2013
20	1	Buildings	Wartburg Hall [?] - metal box
20	1	Buildings	Wartburg Hall [?] - metal box
21	1	Buildings	Holabird & Root proposal - Renovation of Becker Hall	2000
21	1	Buildings	The Book of Remembrance - Chapel Auditorium Fund	1956
22	1	Buildings	Development	2006
22	2	Buildings	Groundbreaking	1982
22	3	Buildings	Dedication – October 21, 1983	1983
22	4	Buildings	Memos 1983 – 1984	1983-1984
22	5	Buildings	Newspaper Clippings	1983
22	6	Buildings	Notecards
22	7	Buildings	Press Releases	1982
22	8	Buildings	Buckmaster Room: Robert Buckmaster Recognition Day	1984
22	9	Buildings	Whitehouse Family Name	1999
22	10	Buildings	Dedication Photo Album	1983
23	1	Buildings	Auctions	1994
23	2	Buildings	Blueprint – Women’s Dormitory	1943
23	3	Buildings	Building Expansion	1952-1977
23	4	Buildings	Campus Building Hours	1983-1984
23	5	Buildings	Campus Committee	1954
23	6	Buildings	Campus Development Program 1949	1949
23	7	Buildings	Contract and Specifications for Construction of Baseball Field	1948
23	8	Buildings	Contract and Specifications for Construction of Athletic Field	1948
23	9	Buildings	Athletic Field – Correspondence	1946
23	10	Buildings	Correspondence – American Lutheran Church
23	11	Buildings	Dedication of Regents park	1982
23	12	Buildings	Indoor Pool	1966
23	13	Buildings	Landscaping	1947-1955
23	14	Buildings	Newspaper Clippings (Photocopies)	1990
23	15	Buildings	Non-Residential Survey of Iowa Colleges and Universities	1970
23	16	Buildings	Plat Map – Waverly
23	17	Buildings	Property Costs
23	18	Buildings	Proposed Development	1948
23	19	Buildings	Proposed Repair and Improvements of Buildings Summer	1939
23	20	Buildings	South Campus Project	1993-1994
23	21	Buildings	Summer Projects	1997
79	1	Buildings	proposed campus renovation	n.d.
79	2	Buildings	groundbreaking, gymnasium	4/11/1948
79	3	Buildings	groundbreaking, Becker hall of science	5/20/1966
79	4	Buildings	groundbreaking and dedication, physical education and recreation center	10/21/1977 - 10/8/1978
79	5	Buildings	groundbreaking and dedication, Whitehouse business center	5/23/1982 and 10/21/1983
79	6	Buildings	Regents Park	dedicated 5/22/1982
79	7	Buildings	greenwood renovations	1988
79	8	Buildings	groundbreaking, fine arts center	4/5/1990
79	9	Buildings	Wartburg-Waverly Wellness Center	11/2005
79	10	Buildings	Wartburg-Waverly Sports and Wellness Center, dedication	10/18/2008
79	11	Buildings	Transforming Tomorrow, Clinton Hall groundbreaking	2/18/2016
79	12	Buildings	Becker hall of science	1999
79	13	Buildings	residence halls
		Buildings	Ceremonial Shovel (from dedication of Wartburg Chapel)
80	1	Buildings	Campus History and Improvement	1930-1960, 1970, 1998, 2000-2002
80	2	Buildings	Campus Maps - Dated	1961-1962, 1966, 1970, 1974, 1990-1991, 1994-1998, 2002, 2004-2005, 2007-2008
80	3	Buildings	Campus Maps - No Dates	1959-1960
80	4	Buildings	Campus Entrance Names	2004
80	5	Buildings	Campus Ritland's Gap	1996
80	6	Buildings	Campus Sundial
80	7	Buildings	Campus Walking Tour	2002
81	1	Buildings	Victory Bell	1984, 2000, 2003
82	1	Buildings	Town Line Cemetery	1980
82	2	Buildings		1947, 1980
82	3	Buildings		1866-1867, 1869
82	4	Buildings	Plants	1983
82	5	Buildings	Wartburg College Lageschulte Prairie

Maintenance:

Records of various maintenance oversights, including auctions/sales, vehicle requests, and employee information. Dates from 1971-2005.
1 box.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
24	1	Maintenance	Auctions/Sales	1994
24	2	Maintenance	College Vehicle Requests	2005
24	3	Maintenance	Emails+Memos	2004
24	4	Maintenance	Employees	1987
24	5	Maintenance	Forms	2001-2001
24	6	Maintenance	Organization Chart	1971
24	7	Maintenance	Position Vacancies	1986

Blueprints:

Records of blueprints regarding buildings’ development and construction at Wartburg. Dates from 1916-1999.
53 boxes.
Arranged by building/structure.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
25	1	Blueprints	Wartburg Theological Seminary Dubuque Iowa	1916
26	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, Ground Floor	1971
27	1	Blueprints	Library Flooring Layout	1971
28	1	Blueprints	North Hall Floor Plans	1946
29	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, Ground Floor	1971
30	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, Penthouse/Boiler Room, Mechanical Parts, Plant Details	1970
31	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, First Floor Plan	1970
32	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, Reflected Ceiling Plan
33	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, Electrical	1970
34	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, Electrical	1970
35	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, Electrical	1970
36	1	Blueprints	Englebrecht Library	1970
37	1	Blueprints	Englebrecht Library	1970
38	1	Blueprints	Englebrecht Library	1970
39	1	Blueprints	Art Building
40	1	Blueprints	Homuth Library	1956
41	1	Blueprints	Wartburg Hall
42	1	Blueprints	Bridge, Student Union, Whitehouse Business Center
43	1	Blueprints	Vogel Library	1997
44	1	Blueprints	North Hall	1946
45	1	Blueprints	North Hall - Mechanical	1946
46	1	Blueprints	North Hall - Floor Plans Revised	1946
47	1	Blueprints	Topographical Map - Wartburg College, Clinton, IA
48	1	Blueprints	Wartburg College Campus in Clinton	1939
49	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, Second Floor	1971
50	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, Ground & First Floor	1971
51	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations	1970
52	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, Ground Floor Mechanical	1970
53	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations, Ground Floor Reflected Ceiling Plan	1971
54	1	Blueprints	Library Additions & Alterations	1971
55	1	Blueprints	Wartburg College Library Expansion & Renovation	1998
56	1	Blueprints	Topographical Map Milcrest Project Wartburg College	1941
57	1	Blueprints	Wartburg College Library Expansion & Renovation	1997
58	1	Blueprints	Wartburg College Proposed Indoor Pool December	196
59	1	Blueprints	Wartburg College Library Expansion & Renovation	1997
60	1	Blueprints	Topographical Map Milcrest Project Wartburg College	1941
61	1	Blueprints	Wartburg College, Luther Hall
62	1	Blueprints	Library	1957
63	1	Blueprints	The Bridge, Business Administration Center
64	1	Blueprints	Wartburg Hall	1946
65	1	Blueprints	Wartburg Hall
66	1	Blueprints	Wartburg Hall
67	1	Blueprints	Library Renovation Blueprints	1996-1999
68	1	Blueprints	Wartburg College Plan for Milcrest, Clinton, IA	1941
69	1	Blueprints	Boys’ Dormitory	1945
70	1	Blueprints	Boys’ Dormitory North Hall
71	1	Blueprints	Boys’ Dormitory North Hall, Mechanical Plans	1946
72	1	Blueprints	Boys’ Dormitory Alterations	946
73	1	Blueprints	North Hall Floor Plans July 1946 Rev	1946
74	1	Blueprints	Boys’ Dormitory North Hall Mechanical	1946
75	1	Blueprints	Boys’ Dormitory North Hall Mechanical	1946
76	1	Blueprints	Topographical Map Milcrest Project Wartburg College	1941
77	1	Blueprints	Boys' Dormitory South Hall

Sustainability:

Records regarding sustainability. Dates from 1989-2014.
1 box.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
78	1	Sustainability	Area Recycling Center	2014
78	2	Sustainability	Assessment	2013
78	3	Sustainability	Clinton Global Initiative University Challenge	2010
78	4	Sustainability	Energy- Savings Program	2005
78	5	Sustainability	Energy Summit	2012
78	6	Sustainability	Go Green Fair
78	7	Sustainability	Leadership Institute Composting Lecture	1989
78	8	Sustainability	“Natural Resources Preservation and Agricultural Diversification” Conference Held	1990
78	9	Sustainability	Plastics Technology Center	2011
78	10	Sustainability	Recycling
78	11	Sustainability	Recycling- Posters	2012
78	12	Sustainability	Recycling- Recycle Mania
78	13	Sustainability	Ronald McDonald House Pull Tap Collection	2012
78	14	Sustainability	Small Steps, Big Wins Campus Challenge	2011
78	15	Sustainability	Sustainability Days	2011
78	16	Sustainability	U-Haul Car-Share Program	2009
78	17	Sustainability	Wartburg Luther Energy Challenge	2007
78	18	Sustainability	Wind Turbine	1990
78	19	Sustainability	Workshop- Teaching Solid Waste Management As An Environmental Issue	1990
78	20	Sustainability	Workshop- Urban Shade Tree Workshop, September 24 1991	9/24/1991

Audiovisual Materials:

Records of building and projects’ development. Dates from 1935-1994.
15 items.
Unarranged.

Container Listing

Format	Series	Content	Date
VHS	A/V	CH 11, "Bridging Time, Space and Spirit"	5/1994
VHS	A/V	CH 4, Chapel projects - still photo transfers	1993-1994
VHS	A/V	CH 5, Wavering Project, Interviews #1	1993-1994
VHS	A/V	CH 6, Wavering Project, Interviews #2	1993-1994
VHS	A/V	CH 7, Interior and Exterior Shots of the Chapel	1994
VHS	A/V	CH 8, From the Ground Up - The Wavering Project	1994
VHS	A/V	CH 9, "Bridging Time, Space and Spirit" (Final Edit Master)	5/1994
VHS	A/V	DED 4, Chapel Dedication	10/30/1994
Audio Reel	A/V	Dedication of White House Business Center	10/21/1983
Audio Reel	A/V	Dedication of White House Business Center	10/21/1983
16mm	A/V	Dedication of Fine Arts Building, Alumni Chorus	1956
16mm	A/V	Gym Construction Film #15	c.1949-1950
Betacam	A/V	Narrations, Wavering Chapel development
VHS	A/V	Neumann House before demo - Neumann auditorium (Francis shots)
16mm	A/V	1935-38 Old Campus Film #26	1935-1938

Other Finding Aids

None.

Campus Offices-Operations and Maintenance Department Collection
Downloadable finding aid for the Operations and Maintenance Department Collection.

See Also