LibGuides: Wartburg College Archives: Library

Wartburg College Archives

Finding Aid

Campus Offices – Library Collection

Preface

The Wartburg College Archives is responsible for the collection and preservation of records that document the college’s history, development, operation, policies, people, activities, and events.

The Archives is committed to providing access to holdings. However, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with the donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-print materials. In such circumstances arrangements may have to be made for digital duplication or transfer to occur before access can be provided.

Introduction

Abstract: Records (1920-2014) of information regarding the various libraries on the Wartburg College campus. Records pertain to library administration, buildings, circulation, collection development, curriculum, general records, publications, student employees, and technology. Collection includes audiovisual items as well as bound volumes.

Scope and Content Note

Extent: 46 boxes, 25 bound volumes, and 13 audiovisual items.

Physical Description: Materials include paper, audiovisual materials (CDs and VHS), and an artifact.

Dates: 1920-2014.

Subjects: Library, Acquisitions, Statistics, Reports, Buildings, Committees, Publications, Technology, Student Employment

Related Material:

Faculty Committees Collection
Operations and Maintenance Collection
Photograph Collection: Campus Offices: Academic Affairs – Wartburg College Libraries
Photograph Collection: Buildings & Grounds: Libraries

Administrative Information

Restrictions: None.

Preferred Citation: [item title/description], [date]; Library Collection; Wartburg College Archives, Waverly, Iowa.

Acquisition Information: Transfer.

Processing Information: Processing completed by SY, SP, and LY on 5/15/2019.

Biographical Sketch/Agency History

History: Wartburg College’s library initially began in Old Main in 1879 at Galena. The library’s first collection of books was a small appropriation that had been voted by the normal school. By 1888, the collection grew to contain 1200 volumes. And by 1893, the collection exceeded 1800 volumes.

Up until the Otto Proehl (Clinton, Iowa) administration, the library’s use was intended for only faculty. Students made requests for the library to be more accessible as it was only open twice weekly for one hour. Per requests, in 1896, the administration opened a reading room for the students. The reading room housed general reference works and was open for an hour and a half on weekdays and Sunday afternoons. However, in 1913 the reading room became available during all free hours.

Around 1950, the library moved from Old Main to the basement of Luther Hall. The library remained in Luther Hall only temporarily. In 1959, Homuth Library was established, effectively being the first library structure on the Waverly campus.

In 1972, the Homuth Library received upgrades, including the addition of a second floor. After these upgrades, the library was known as the Engelbrecht Library, after August Engelbrecht, Wartburg College president from 1909-1933.

About thirty years later, the library received more upgrades. This time, the addition of a large “learner’s library” space at the front of the library and a rotunda including the Konditerei coffee shop were made. The library was renamed Robert and Sally Vogel Library after Robert Vogel, Wartburg president from 1980-1998, and his wife, Sally. Vogel and his wife made significant donations to the library that were instrumental to the update.

As of today, Wartburg Vogel Library offers various technological devices for checkout for current students, faculty, and staff. If equipment is checked out, it must be returned 15 minutes before the library closes. If and individual finds them self in need of assistance, ELITE (Emerging Leaders in Technology Education) will provide resources and support. ELITE is made possible through the efforts of Vogel Library, Instructional Technology and Information Technology Services.

Vogel Library selects physical and digital materials for their collection. These materials must support four facets of the college and the community. The four facets include the curriculum of Wartburg College, the common learning outcomes of Wartburg College, the scholarship of the Wartburg community, and the personal development of the Wartburg community.

Bibliography:

Collection Development Including Donations. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://knightguides.wartburg.edu/c.php?g=1181346&p=8638303.

Faculty Resources: ILAC History LibGuide (n.d.). Retrieved from https://knightguides.wartburg.edu/ILAC.

LibGuides: Equipment and Technology: Technology Support. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://knightguides.wartburg.edu/equipntech/technology.

Ottersberg, G. (1952). Wartburg College 1852-1952. Waverly, IA: Waverly Publishing Co.

Series Description

Administration
Buildings
Circulation
Collection Development
Curriculum
General
Library
Publications
Student Employees
Technology
Audiovisual Materials

Administration:

Records of library annual reports, Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries, statistics, grants, policies, personnel, and budgets. Dates from 1920-2014.
12 boxes.
Each box is arranged by subject and thereunder chronologically by date.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
1	1	Administration	Accreditation- Data- Self Study	1966
1	2	Administration	Accreditation- Effective Use and Development of Library Facilities at Wartburg College
1	3	Administration	Accreditation- Library Resources and Services
1	4	Administration	Accreditation- North Central Association Review	1977
1	5	Administration	Accreditation- Self-Study	1976-1977
2	1	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1936-1937	1936-1937
2	2	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1937-1938	1937-1938
2	3	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1938-1939	1938-1939
2	4	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1939-1940	1939-1940
2	5	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1940-1941	1940-1941
2	6	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1943-1944	1943-1944
2	7	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1944-1945	1944-1945
2	8	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1945-1946	1945-1946
2	9	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1946-1947	1946-1947
2	10	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1947-1948	1947-1948
2	11	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1948-1949	1948-1949
2	12	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1949-1950	1949-1950
2	13	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1950-1951	1950-1951
2	14	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1951-1952	1951-1952
2	15	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1952-1953	1952-1953
2	16	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1953-1954	1953-1954
2	17	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1954-1955	1954-1955
2	18	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1955-1956	1955-1956
2	19	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1956-1957	1956-1957
2	20	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1957-1958	1957-1958
2	21	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1958-1959	1958-1959
2	22	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1959-1960	1959-1960
2	23	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1960-1961	1960-1961
2	24	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1961-1962	1961-1962
2	25	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1962-1963	1962-1963
2	26	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1963-1964	1963-1964
2	27	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1964-1965	1964-1965
2	28	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1965-1966	1965-1966
2	29	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1966-1967	1966-1967
2	30	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1967-1968	1967-1968
2	31	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1968-1969	1968-1969
2	32	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1969-1970	1969-1970
3	1	Administration	Engelbrecht Library Mission	1985-1989
3	2	Administration	Namibia Project Descriptors	11/1/1990
3	3	Administration	Namibia Project- Namibia Bibliography (Arranged by call Number)
3	4	Administration	Namibia Project- Namibia Bibliography- November 1988	11/1988
3	5	Administration	Namibia Project- Namibia Bibliography- February 1994	02/1994
3	6	Administration	Namibia Project- Policies and Procedures- April 1988	04/1988
4	1	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1970-1971	1970-1971
4	2	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1971-1972	1971-1972
4	3	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1972-1973	1972-1973
4	4	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1973-1974	1973-1974
4	5	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1974-1975	1974-1975
4	6	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1975-1976	1975-1976
4	7	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1976-1977	1976-1977
4	8	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1977-1978	1977-1978
4	9	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1978-1979	1978-1979
4	10	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1979-1980	1979-1980
4	11	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1980-1981	1980-1981
4	12	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1981-1982	1981-1982
4	13	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1982-1983	1982-1983
4	14	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1983-1984	1983-1984
4	15	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1984-1985	1984-1985
4	16	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1985-1986	1985-1986
4	17	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1986-1987	1986-1987
5	1	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Constitution
5	2	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- General Information	1979
5	3	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Librarians- Minutes March and April 1968	03/1968-04/1968
5	4	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1968-1969	1968-1969
5	5	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1969-1970	1969-1970
5	6	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1970-1971	1970-1971
5	7	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1971-1972	1971-1972
5	8	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1973-1974	1973-1974
5	9	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1974-1975	1974-1975
5	10	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1975-1976	1975-1976
5	11	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1976-1977	1976-1977
5	12	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1977-1978	1977-1978
5	13	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1978-1979	1978-1979
5	14	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1979-1980	1979-1980
5	15	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1980-1981	1980-1981
5	16	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes Fall 1981	1981
5	17	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes Fall 1982	1982
5	18	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1983-1984	1983-1984
5	19	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1984-1985	1984-1985
5	20	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1985-1986	1985-1986
5	21	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1986-1987	1986-1987
5	22	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1987-1988	1987-1988
5	23	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes 1988-1989	1988-1989
5	24	Administration	Northeast Iowa Academic Libraries- Minutes Fall 1989	1989
6	1	Administration	Security System	1980-1990
6	2	Administration	Cataloging- 2001-2002 to 2006-2007	2001-2007
6	3	Administration	Statistics- Library Statistical Report for Institutions of Higher Education 1940s	1940-1949
6	4	Administration	Statistics- Library Statistical Report for Institutions of Higher Education 1950s	1950-1959
6	5	Administration	Statistics- Library Statistical Report for Institutions of Higher Education 1960s	1960-1969
6	6	Administration	Statistics- Periodicals- 1995-1996 to 2006-2007	1995-2007
6	7	Administration	Statistics- Stats of A.L.C. College and Seminary Libraries	1959-1966
6	8	Administration	Student Employee Handbooks	1943-1987
6	9	Administration	Student Employees- Rules and Agreements
6	10	Administration	Student Employees- Wages/Timesheets	1943-1964
6	11	Administration	Surveys- Higher Education general Information Survey	1968-1985
6	12	Administration	Surveys	1993-2003
7	1	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1987-1988	1987-1988
7	2	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1988-1989	1988-1989
7	3	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1989-1990	1989-1990
7	4	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1990-1991	1990-1991
7	5	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1991-1992	1991-1992
7	6	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1992-1993	1992-1993
7	7	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1993-1994	1993-1994
7	8	Administration	Library Annual Reports 1994-1995	1994-1995
8	1	Administration	Gifts- Correspondence 1963-1975	1963-1975
8	2	Administration	Gifts- Correspondence Thank You Letters 1965-1972	1965-1972
8	3	Administration	Gifts- Donor Lists 1968-1975	1968-1975
9	1	Administration	Library Financing- Grant and Loan Documents and relevant correspondence	1963-1973
9	2	Administration	Title III- Loan Application for the Construction of Academic Facilities	1972
9	3	Administration	Grants- Association of College and Reference Libraries	1955-1963
9	4	Administration	Grants- Association of College and Research Libraries 1957-1960	1957-1960
9	5	Administration	Grant- Special Purpose Grant 1967	1967
9	6	Administration	Grants- Special Grants 1969	1969
9	7	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1971-1972	1971-1972
9	8	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1972-1973	1972-1973
9	9	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1973-1974	1973-1974
9	10	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1974-1975	1974-1975
9	11	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1975-1976	1975-1976
9	12	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1976-1977	1976-1977
9	13	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1977-1978	1977-1978
9	14	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1978-1979	1978-1979
9	15	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1979-1980	1979-1980
9	16	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1980-1981	1980-1981
9	17	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1981-1982	1981-1982
9	18	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1982-1983	1982-1983
9	19	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1983-1984	1983-1984
9	20	Administration	Grants- Title II A 1984-1985	1984-1985
9	21	Administration	Grants- Title III- Development Grant 1990	1990
9	22	Administration	Grants- Title III- 1989	1989
10	1	Administration	Budget- 1920-1949	1920-1949
10	2	Administration	Budget- 1960s	1960-1969
10	3	Administration	Budget- 1970s	1970-1979
10	4	Administration	Budget- 1980s	1980-1989
10	5	Administration	Budget- 1990s	1990-1999
10	6	Administration	Budget- 2000s	2000-2009
11	1	Administration	Personnel- 1992 Christmas Party	1992
11	2	Administration	Personnel- Comprehensive Staff List 2009	2009
11	3	Administration	Personnel- Faculty- Librarian Relationships
11	4	Administration	Personnel- Job Descriptions	1980-1990
11	5	Administration	Personnel- Librarian Meetings 2009-2010	2009-2010
11	6	Administration	Personnel- Librarian Meetings 2011-2012	2011-2012
11	7	Administration	Personnel- Librarian Meetings 2014	2014
11	8	Administration	Personnel- Library News	1980-1992
11	9	Administration	Personnel- National Library Staff Day	1979-1982
11	10	Administration	Personnel- New Faculty Information	1987-1995
11	11	Administration	Personnel- Newsletter to Faculty	1984-1991
11	12	Administration	Personnel- Position Vacancies	1985-2009
11	13	Administration	Personnel- Staff Meetings 1990s	1990-1999
11	14	Administration	Personnel- Staff Meeting- Minutes 2000-2001	2000-2001
11	15	Administration	Personnel- Staff Meeting- Minutes 2003-2004	2003-2004
11	16	Administration	Personnel- Staff Meeting- Minutes 2004-2005	2004-2005
11	17	Administration	Personnel- Staff Meeting- Minutes 2005-2006	2005-2006
11	18	Administration	Personnel- Staff Meeting- Minutes 2006-2007	2006-2007
11	19	Administration	Personnel- Staff Meeting- Minutes 2007-2008	2007-2008
11	20	Administration	Personnel- Staff Meeting- Minutes 2008-2009	2008-2009
11	21	Administration	Personnel- Staff Meeting- Minutes 2009-2010	2009-2010
11	22	Administration	Personnel- Staff Meeting- Minutes 2010-2011	2010-2011
11	23	Administration	Personnel- Workshops/Seminars	1986-1995
11	24	Administration	Personnel- Work Schedules	1984-2000
12	1	Administration	Loan Period- Charges- Dated-Undated- Procedure	1970-2005
12	2	Administration	Loan Periods- International Students- Pre-1998 Orientation
12	3	Administration	Policy- Regulations	1960-1969
12	4	Administration	Policy and Procedures	1990-1999
12	5	Administration	Policy- Acquisitions	1970-1993
12	6	Administration	Selection Procedure for Library Materials Relating to Environmental Studies	1979

Buildings:

Records regarding various buildings, including Vogel Library. Dates from 1922-2009.
7 boxes.
Arranged by subject and thereunder alphabetically.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
13	1	Buildings	Early Library	1922
13	2	Buildings	Homuth Library Articles	1957
13	3	Buildings	Homuth Library Brochures
13	4	Buildings	Homuth Library Building Contracts	1958
13	5	Buildings	Homuth Library Cornerstone	1958
13	6	Buildings	Homuth Library Correspondence	1959
13	7	Buildings	Correspondence of the librarian	1948
13	8	Buildings	Library Dedication	1959
13	9	Buildings	Library Gifts	1959
13	10	Buildings	Library Expansion Recommendations	1966
13	11	Buildings	"5 Year-Plan of the Homuth Library"
13	12	Buildings	Library Plans (Interior)
13	13	Buildings	Subcommittee on the Furniture	1959
13	14	Buildings	Educational Policies Subcommittee	1966
13	15	Buildings	Future Engelbrecht	1966
13	16	Buildings	Space Considerations for a Library	1966
13	17	Buildings	Student Handbook
14	1	Buildings	Vogel Library Anniversaries	2009
14	2	Buildings	Vogel Library Architect's Meeting Notes	1997
14	3	Buildings	Vogel Articles	1999
14	4	Buildings	Vogel Awards	2000-2007
14	5	Buildings	Vogel Library Brochures	1999-2004
14	6	Buildings	Vogel Library Dedication	1999
14	7	Buildings	Vogel Library Gifts/Fundraising	1997-1998
14	8	Buildings	Vogel Library Interior and Exterior view/Floor Plans	1999
14	9	Buildings	Vogel Library Konditorei	1996
14	10	Buildings	Vogel Library - Library Building Program 1996	1996
14	11	Buildings	Vogel Library Memos	1999
14	12	Buildings	Vogel Library Plans	1998
14	13	Buildings	Vogel Library Receptions
14	14	Buildings	Recognition of Dr. Robert L. and Sally Vogel, Ground Breaking Sunday, May 17, 1998	5/17/1998
14	15	Buildings	Vogel "Vision for the Future of the Library" Drafts 1996	1996
15	1	Buildings	Articles	1970
15	2	Buildings	Award	1990
15	3	Buildings	Building Improvement Recommendations
15	4	Buildings	Correspondence with Bids	1972
15	5	Buildings	Correspondence	1967
15	6	Buildings	Correspondence	1966
15	7	Buildings	Glenn De Voogkt	1971
15	8	Buildings	Floor plans	1966
15	9	Buildings	Historical Timeline	1959-1967
15	10	Buildings	Letters/Proposals	1971
15	11	Buildings	Long Range Planning	1988
15	12	Buildings	Memos	1994
15	13	Buildings	Plans and Bids	1970
15	14	Buildings	Plans on Furniture
15	15	Buildings	Library Addition	1970
15	16	Buildings	Sketches
15	17	Buildings	5-Year Plan	1995
16	1	Buildings	Guidelines and Schedules
16	2	Buildings	Gifts and Grants
16	3	Buildings	Memos	1970
16	4	Buildings	Receipts	1971
16	5	Buildings	Woodburn and O'Neil Architects	1972
17	1	Buildings	pre-Bid Documents and Data Affirmation	1970
17	2	Buildings	Bids- General Electrical Mechanical	1970
17	3	Buildings	Equipment Bids
17	4	Buildings	Floor plans
17	5	Buildings	Furnitures-Chairs-Catalogs	1971
17	6	Buildings	Furnitures-Color Swatches
17	7	Buildings	Furniture-Study Carrels-Catalogs
17	8	Buildings	Furniture-Tables-Catalogs
17	9	Buildings	Hardware
17	10	Buildings	Stacks-Color Chips	1971
18	1	Buildings	Articles
18	2	Buildings	Dedication	1972
18	3	Buildings	Dedication Correspondence	1991
19	1	Buildings	Brochures and Flyers	1998-1999
19	2	Buildings	memos	1998-1999
19	3	Buildings	Request Forms	1998-1999
19	4	Buildings	Consultant's Report	1991
19	5	Buildings	Correspondence
19	6	Buildings	Project	1992
19	7	Buildings	Plan	1992
19	8	Buildings	"Concerns, Questions, Suggestions, Re Music Holdings
19	9	Buildings	Floor plans	1992
19	10	Buildings	Library Renovation Project	1992
19	11	Buildings	Program Plan	1992
19	12	Buildings	Renovation Project Summary	1992

Circulation:

Records regarding circulation. Dates from 1935-2009.
3 boxes.
Arranged chronologically by date.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
20	1	Circulation	Circulation Record	1935-1937
20	2	Circulation	Circulation Record	1937-1939
20	3	Circulation	Circulation Record	1940-1942
20	4	Circulation	Circulation Record	1942-1944
20	5	Circulation	Circulation Record	1944-1946
20	6	Circulation	Circulation Record	1947-1948
20	7	Circulation	Circulation Record	1948-1950
20	8	Circulation	Circulation Record	1949-1951
20	9	Circulation	Circulation Record	1951-1953
20	10	Circulation	Circulation Record	1953-1955
20	11	Circulation	Circulation Record	1955-1957
21	1	Circulation	Circulation Statistics Record	1957-1959
21	2	Circulation	Circulation Statistics Record	1959-1961
21	3	Circulation	Circulation Statistics Record	1961-1963
21	4	Circulation	Circulation Statistics Record	1963-1965
21	5	Circulation	Circulation Statistics Record	1965-1970
21	6	Circulation	Circulation	1964
21	7	Circulation	Circulation	1965
21	8	Circulation	Circulation	1966
21	9	Circulation	Circulation	1967
21	10	Circulation	Circulation	1968
21	11	Circulation	Circulation	1969
22	1	Circulation	Circulation	1969-1970
22	2	Circulation	Circulation	1970-1971
22	3	Circulation	Circulation	1971-1972
22	4	Circulation	Circulation	1972-1973
22	5	Circulation	Circulation	1973-1974
22	6	Circulation	Circulation	1974-1975
22	7	Circulation	Circulation	1975-1976
22	8	Circulation	Circulation	1976-1977
22	9	Circulation	Circulation	1977-1978
22	10	Circulation	Circulation	1978-1979
22	11	Circulation	Circulation	1979-1980
22	12	Circulation	Circulation	1980-1981
22	13	Circulation	Circulation	1981-1982
22	14	Circulation	Circulation	1982-1983
22	15	Circulation	Circulation	1983-1984
22	16	Circulation	Circulation	1985
22	18	Circulation	Circulation	1988-1989
22	19	Circulation	Circulation	1989-1990
22	20	Circulation	Circulation	1991-1992
22	21	Circulation	Circulation	1996
22	22	Circulation	Circulation	2009

Collection Development:

Records of acquisitions and procedure manuals. Series includes bound volumes regarding accession record books and books for Wartburg College. Dates from 1920-1995.
10 boxes and 25 bound volumes.
Boxes 23 and 24 are arranged chronologically by date. Boxes 25 through 32 are arranged by subject and thereunder chronologically by date. Bound Volumes are arranged alphabetically by subject and thereunder chronologically by date.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Format	Series	Content	Date
23	1		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1945-1950
23	2		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1950-1953
23	3		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1954-1955
23	4		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1955-1956
23	5		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1956-1957
23	6		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1957-1958
23	7		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1958-1959
24	1		Collection Development	Serials – Northeast Iowa Union List of Serials (NEIULS)
24	2		Collection Development	Handbook for the Development of a Union List of Serials for Northeast Iowa Academic Institutions	1967
24	3		Collection Development	Procedure Manual	1971
24	4		Collection Development	Procedure Manual with revisions	1974
24	5		Collection Development	Procedure Manual with revisions	1978
25	1		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1959-1960
25	2		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1960-1961
25	3		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1961-1962
25	4		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1962-1963
25	5		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1963-1964
26	1		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1964-1965
26	2		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1965-1966
26	3		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1966-1967
27	1		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1967-1968
27	2		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1968-1969
27	3		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1969-1970
27	4		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1970-1971
27	5		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1971-1972
28	1		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1972-1973
28	2		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1973-1974
28	3		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1974-1975
28	4		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1975-1976
29	1		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1976-1977
29	2		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1977-1978
29	3		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1978-1979
29	4		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1979-1980
29	5		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1980-1981
30	1		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1981-1982
30	2		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1982-1983
30	3		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1983-1984
30	4		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1984-1985
30	5		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1985-1986
31	1		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1986-1987
31	2		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1987-1988
31	3		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1988-1989
31	4		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1989-1999
31	5		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1990-1991
32	1		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1991-1992
32	2		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1992-1993
32	3		Collection Development	Acquisitions	1993-1994
32	4		Collection Development	Acquisitions Phi Delta Kappa	1994
32	5		Collection Development	Acquisitions Budget	1994-1995
32	6		Collection Development	Material Acquisition Policy	1984
32	7		Collection Development	Acquisitions
32	8		Collection Development	Curriculum Lab - Acquisitions	1994-1995
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1920
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1935
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1939-1940
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1942
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1948
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1952
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1955
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1956
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1958
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1959
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1961
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1962
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1962
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1963
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1964
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1965
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1966
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1966
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1967
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1968
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Accession Record Book	1976
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Books for Wartburg College Library by Walter H. Seegers	1956
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Books for Wartburg College Library by Walter H. Seegers	1956
		Bound vol	Collection Development	Books for Wartburg College Library by Walter H. Seegers	1961

Curriculum:

Records of information literacy as well as miscellaneous content regarding curriculum. Dates from 1984-2010.
2 boxes.
Each box arranged alphabetically by subject and thereunder chronologically by date.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
33	1	Curriculum	Acquisitions
33	2	Curriculum	“Bibliography of “Peace Education” Resources in the Curriculum Library”
33	3	Curriculum	Content Guide
33	4	Curriculum	Correspondence	1993
33	5	Curriculum	Duties
33	6	Curriculum	Memos	1991
33	7	Curriculum	News	1993
33	8	Curriculum	Organization	1999-2000
33	9	Curriculum	Youth Collection	1988
34	1	Curriculum	Information Literacy	1999-2000
34	2	Curriculum	Information Literacy	2000-2001
34	3	Curriculum	Information Literacy	2001-2002
34	4	Curriculum	Information Literacy	2002-2003
34	5	Curriculum	Information Literacy	2003-2004
34	6	Curriculum	Information Literacy	2004-2005
34	7	Curriculum	Information Literacy	2005-2006
34	8	Curriculum	Information Literacy	2006-2007
34	9	Curriculum	Information Literacy	2007-2008
34	10	Curriculum	Information Literacy	2009-2010
34	11	Curriculum	Information Literacy Biology	1984
34	12	Curriculum	Information Literacy Brochures
34	13	Curriculum	Information Literacy Drugs and Personal Health
34	14	Curriculum	Information Literacy Economics	1995
34	15	Curriculum	Information Literacy Education	1995
34	16	Curriculum	Information Literacy EN 112	1997
34	17	Curriculum	Information Literacy General Search
34	18	Curriculum	Information Literacy ID 385 Vietnam War	1996
34	19	Curriculum	Information Literacy ILAC	2002
34	20	Curriculum	Information Literacy Music	1997
34	21	Curriculum	Information Literacy Science	1994
34	22	Curriculum	Information Literacy Social Work
34	23	Curriculum	Information Literacy Statistics Comparative Data
34	24	Curriculum	Information Literacy Statistics – Memos	2004

General:

Records regarding various library affairs, as well as directories, archives, and correspondence. Dates from 1956-2011.
5 boxes.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
35	1	General	Homuth Memorial Library plaque [Oversize]
36	1	General	Directories	1970-1979
36	2	General	Directories	1980-1989
36	3	General	Directories	1990-1999
36	4	General	Directories Undated
36	5	General	Directories Undated
36	6	General	Displays	1970-1979
36	7	General	Directories	1980-1989
37	1	General	Academic Investment Fund Proposal
37	2	General	Bibliophilanthropy
37	3	General	Brochures	198-1999
37	4	General	Christmas Party	1978
37	5	General	Copyright Law	1991
37	6	General	Delivery Service	1996-1997
37	7	General	Events	1998
37	8	General	Hours	1982
37	9	General	“Information for New Faculty”	1994-1995
37	10	General	Information Guides & Walkthroughs	1969-1970
37	11	General	Lutheran College Librarian Meeting Minutes	1956
37	12	General	Memos
37	13	General	Mini-Courses	1970
37	14	General	Reports	1959-1960
37	15	General	Surveys	1979
37	16	General	Vandalism	1993
38	1	General	Archives- Acquisitions Policies
38	2	General	Archives- Chives from the Archives	1971
38	3	General	Archives Consultant’s Report January	2001
38	4	General	Archives Mission Statement	2011
38	5	General	Archives- Suggested Archival Material
38	6	General	Library- Art	1976
38	7	General	Art Contest
38	8	General	Library- Audio- Visual Center- Inventory	1978
38	9	General	Library- Audio Visual Center- Memos	1979
38	10	General	Library- Audio Visual Center- Request Sheets
38	11	General	Library Awards	2001
39	1	General	Vogel- Student Survey	2010
39	2	General	Survey of Improvements (date unknown) During Carl System
39	3	General	Engelbrecht Bloomberg, Stephen Stolen Library Book	1990
39	4	General	Correspondence- MISC. Letters	1971
39	5	General	Correspondence- KIRK GROSS CO.	1971
39	6	General	Correspondence- THE GUNLOCKE COMPANY INC.	1971
39	7	General	Correspondence- E & I Industries	1972
39	8	General	Correspondence- W.R. Ames Company	1972
39	9	General	Correspondence- Woodburn & O’Neal	1971
39	10	General	Correspondence- Memorials to the Library	1970
39	11	General	Correspondence- BESCO	1971
39	12	General	Correspondence- The Design Group	1971
39	13	General	Correspondence- Kitchens by Ronnie	1971
39	14	General	Correspondence- Library Bureau	1971
39	15	General	Correspondence- Estey Corporation	1972
39	16	General	Correspondence- James Meyer	1971
39	17	General	Correspondence- WILLIAM SELLE- AID ASSOC. FOR LUTHERANS	1971
39	18	General	Correspondence- LIBRARY JOURNAL	1959
39	19	General	Correspondence- TERRY TRIGGS- STEEL SHELVING	1971
39	20	General	Correspondence- HARRY L. KELLERMAN- DEPT. OF HEALTH ED. + WELFARE	1972
39	21	General	Correspondence- RE: Larry Carmany	1972
39	22	General	Proposal for Library Additions	1971
39	23	General	Information & Science Career Week- Library + Information Science Career Week	1979
39	24	General	Amnesty Days	1975
39	25	General	Engelbrecht- Materials for Visually Impaired Correspondence	1992
39	26	General	Engelbrecht- NORTH CENTRAL ASSOCIATION SELF- STUDY
39	27	General	Buildings- Engelbrecht Library Guides
39	28	General	Library- Board of College Education	1968
39	29	General	Engelbrecht Library- “Library Resource Guidebook Engelbrecht Library of Wartburg College”
39	30	General	Library MISC.	1979
39	31	General	Overdue Notice Samples
39	32	General	Forms- Invitations, MISC.
39	33	General	Media- Curriculum Center in Expanded Library	1970
39	34	General	Library Hours Past and Present
39	35	General	Audiovisual Service 1991- 1992	1991
39	36	General	Library- “Building A Library in Peace and Justice Studies”	1982

Library:

Records of library committees. Dates from 1939-1984.
1 box.
Arranged alphabetically by subject and thereunder chronologically by date.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
40	1	Library	Library Advisory Committee	1984
40	2	Library	Library Committee Meetings	1939-1940
40	3	Library	Library Committee Meetings	1950
40	4	Library	Library Dedication Committee	1959
40	5	Library	Library – Subcommittee of the Educational Policies Committee	1966
40	6	Library	National Advisory Board
40	7	Library	Subcommittee on Archives	1959-1960
40	8	Library	Subcommittee on Function and Equipment of Audio – Visual and Library Science Rooms
40	9	Library	Subcommittee on Furniture for the Library
40	10	Library	Subcommittee on Stacks and Shelving

Publications:

Records of Wartburg publications regarding Vogel Library and its affiliates. Dates from 1971-2010.
1 box.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
41	1	Publications	Publications – “Ex Libris”
41	2	Publications	Publications – Footnotes	1973-1975
41	3	Publications	Publications – The Library Line Newsletter	1993-1998
41	4	Publications	Publications – Library News to Peruse Newsletter	2006-2010
41	5	Publications	Publications – Occasional Engelbrecht	1976
41	6	Publications	Publications – Occasional Engelbrecht	1977
41	7	Publications	Publications – Occasional Engelbrecht	1978
41	8	Publications	Publications – Occasional Engelbrecht	1979
41	9	Publications	Publications – Occasional Engelbrecht	1980
41	10	Publications	Publications – Occasional Engelbrecht Correspondence	1976-1980
41	11	Publications	Publications – Star Bulletin	1971
41	12	Publications	Publications – Vogel Library – Vogel Library Update

Student Employees

Records of student employment, including library resources and orientation. Dates from 1976-1994.
2 boxes.
Arranged alphabetically by subject and thereunder chronologically by date.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
42	1	Student Employees	Orientation [no date]
42	2	Student Employees	Orientation Events	1977
42	3	Student Employees	Finding Aid – Magazines	1982
42	4	Student Employees	Library Guides	1976
42	5	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1980
42	6	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1980
42	7	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1980
42	8	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1982
42	9	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1982
42	10	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1984
42	11	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1984
42	12	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1985
42	13	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1985
42	14	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1986-1987
42	15	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1987-1988
43	1	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment One	1991
43	2	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Two	1991
43	3	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Three	1991
43	4	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Four	1991
43	5	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Five	1991
43	6	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Six	1991
43	7	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Seven	1991
43	8	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Eight	1991
43	9	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Nine	1991
43	10	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Ten	1991
43	11	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Eleven	1991
43	12	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Twelve	1991
43	13	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook Assignment Thirteen	1991
43	14	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment Fourteen	1991
43	15	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1991-1992
43	16	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1991-1992
43	17	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook	1993-1994
43	18	Student Employees	Library Resources Guidebook – Evaluations
43	19	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment	1981
43	20	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment	1982
43	21	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment	1985
43	22	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment	1992-1993
43	23	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment	1992-1993
43	24	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment No Date
43	25	Student Employees	Library Resources Workbook – Assignment No Date
43	26	Student Employees	Public Relations	1980
43	27	Student Employees	Library Orientation Survey No Date
43	28	Student Employees	Library Orientation Walking Tour	1984
43	29	Student Employees	Library Orientation Walking	1984
43	30	Student Employees	Library Orientation Walking No Date

Technology

Records of CARL system, catalogs, and various information regarding Vogel library. Dates from 1970-1999.
3 boxes.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
44	1	Technology	CARL System – Buttons
44	2	Technology	CARL – Contract	1994
44	3	Technology	CARL – Correspondence	1994
44	4	Technology	CARL – Description	1993
44	5	Technology	CARL – Instructional Handouts	1994
44	6	Technology	CARL – Memos	1992
44	7	Technology	Catalog Changes – 1980s	1983
44	8	Technology	Catalog Changes 1990s	1991
44	9	Technology	Dialog Information	1970-1979
44	10	Technology	Horizon Correspondence	1995
44	11	Technology	Horizon Training Guide	1996
44	12	Technology	Information Technologies Report	1993
44	13	Technology	Library Automation Correspondence
44	14	Technology	Library Automation Handbook	1991
44	15	Technology	Library Automation Survey
44	16	Technology	Milestone Schedules	1993
44	17	Technology	Online Catalog Proposal	1990
44	18	Technology	Online Searching Policies	1985
45	1	Technology	Library Statistics 1970s	1978
45	2	Technology	Library Statistics 1980s	1987
46	1	Technology	Interlibrary Loan (ILL)	1985
46	2	Technology	F.S. Class Schedule 1980 – 1989	1980-1989
46	3	Technology	Scholarly Source Search 1990 – 1999	1990-1999
46	4	Technology	IPAL	1986-1987

Audiovisual Materials:

Records of READ posters, publications, and forums regarding libraries. Dates from 1995-2009.
13 items.
Arranged by format.

Container Listing

Format	Series	Content	Date
CD	General	FYE Calendar
CD	General	Miranda READ
CD	General	READ posters	2005-2007
CD	General	READ posters
CD	General	READ posters	2005-2006
CD	General	National Library Week	Apr-08
CD	Publications	Rachel Brawner, History of Wartburg Homes
CD	Publications	10th Anniversary, Homecoming	2009
CD	Publications	Bibliophilanthrophy	Feb-08
CD	Technology	[Web]site backup	2003
CD	Technology	IPAL	2007-2008
VHS	A/V	Campus/Community Forum, Libraries - Wartburg and Waverly	3/23/1995
VHS	A/V	Faculty Forum: Library - Jill Gremmels	11/25/1997

Other Finding Aids

None.