Wartburg College Archives
Finding Aid
Campus Offices – Campus Ministry Collection
Preface
The Wartburg College Archives is responsible for the collection and preservation of records that document the college’s history, development, operation, policies, people, activities, and events.
The Archives is committed to providing access to holdings. However, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with the donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-print materials. In such circumstances arrangements may have to be made for digital duplication or transfer to occur before access can be provided.
Introduction
Abstract: Records (1925-2016) of Wartburg’s Campus Ministry. Collection also includes audiovisual materials (cassettes).
Scope and Content Note
Extent: 7 boxes and 14 audiovisual items.
Physical Description: Materials include paper and audiovisual materials (cassettes).
Dates: 1925-2016.
Subjects: Church, Relations, Services, Church Task Force
Related Material:
Religion and Philosophy Department Collection
Student Activities Collection
Photograph Collection
Administrative Information
Restrictions: None.
Preferred Citation: [item title/description], [date]; Campus Ministry Department Collection; Wartburg College Archives, Waverly, Iowa.
Acquisition Information: Transfer.
Processing Information: Processing completed by SY and LY on 4/5/2019.
Biographical Sketch/Agency History
History: In 1994 Wartburg completed construction on the Wartburg Chapel. The Chapel is used for worship as well as concerts, weddings, funerals, and church and community events. Wartburg offers a chapel time every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 10:35 a.m. There are no classes during this time. On Wednesday nights at 9 p.m. sanctuary is offered. Sunday morning worship is held at 10:30 a.m.
Campus Ministry offers a variety of spiritual groups including Catholic Knights, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, and Chapel Ambassadors.
Bibliography:
Spiritual Life & Campus Ministry. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.wartburg.edu/campus-ministry/.
Series Description
Container Listing
|
Box |
Folder |
Series |
Content |
Date |
|
1 |
1 |
Campus Ministry |
Annual Report 1980-1981 |
1980-1981 |
|
1 |
2 |
Campus Ministry |
Annual Report 1981-1982 |
1981-1982 |
|
1 |
3 |
Campus Ministry |
Annual Report 1982-1983 |
1982-1983 |
|
1 |
4 |
Campus Ministry |
Booklets (Devotionals) |
1995-2002 |
|
1 |
5 |
Campus Ministry |
Bulletins |
1949-2003 |
|
1 |
6 |
Campus Ministry |
Bulletins (Ash Wednesday) |
1979-2005 |
|
1 |
7 |
Campus Ministry |
Bulletins (Christmas- Advent) |
1940-2005 |
|
1 |
8 |
Campus Ministry |
Bulletins (Fall Faculty Worship) |
1992-2003 |
|
1 |
9 |
Campus Ministry |
Bulletins (Mid-Week Eucharist) |
2001 |
|
1 |
10 |
Campus Ministry |
Bulletins (Music/Chorale Service) |
1986-2003 |
|
1 |
11 |
Campus Ministry |
Bulletins (Parting and New Student Worship) |
1983-1994 |
|
1 |
12 |
Campus Ministry |
Bulletins (September 11th Remembrance) |
2001-2002 |
|
1 |
13 |
Campus Ministry |
Calendars |
1974-1994 |
|
1 |
14 |
Campus Ministry |
Cedar Valley Forum |
|
|
1 |
15 |
Campus Ministry |
Clown Services |
1990 |
|
1 |
16 |
Campus Ministry |
Community 1953-1984 |
1953-1984 |
|
1 |
17 |
Campus Ministry |
Community 1988-? |
1988 |
|
1 |
18 |
Campus Ministry |
Concerts (Speakers/Artists) |
1997-2011 |
|
1 |
19 |
Campus Ministry |
Convocation |
1966-1972 |
|
1 |
20 |
Campus Ministry |
Educational Partners in Covenant (EPIC) Participation Form |
2003 |
|
1 |
21 |
Campus Ministry |
Faculty Preferences |
1974 |
|
1 |
22 |
Campus Ministry |
Feed My Starving Children |
2008-2011 |
|
1 |
23 |
Campus Ministry |
Invitations |
1984-2003 |
|
1 |
24 |
Campus Ministry |
Memorandums |
1994 |
|
2 |
1 |
Campus Ministry |
Pamphlets |
1998-2004 |
|
2 |
2 |
Campus Ministry |
Pamphlets (Sharing for Service) |
|
|
2 |
3 |
Campus Ministry |
Pamphlets (Spiritual Emphasis Week) |
1979-1984 |
|
2 |
4 |
Campus Ministry |
Pamphlets (Summer Program) |
1978-1998 |
|
2 |
5 |
Campus Ministry |
Passover Seder Meal |
1974-1985 |
|
2 |
6 |
Campus Ministry |
Position Vacancies |
1987-1988 |
|
2 |
7 |
Campus Ministry |
Psalm 149 |
2006 |
|
2 |
8 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations |
2003-2004 |
|
2 |
9 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (ALCM Region III Conference) |
7/2000 |
|
2 |
10 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Bachchoir of Eisenach) |
12/3/1997 |
|
2 |
11 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Brochure) |
1992 |
|
2 |
12 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Committee) |
3/30/1967 |
|
2 |
13 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Correspondence) |
1993-2012 |
|
2 |
14 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Faith Expressions Groups) |
1995-1998 |
|
2 |
15 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Hollywood Free Paper) |
1974 |
|
2 |
16 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Interim Report of the Design Task Force the Church and Education) |
1984 |
|
2 |
17 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Junior High Event) Booklets |
1997-2002 |
|
2 |
18 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Junior High Event) Participation Form |
11/7/1998 |
|
2 |
19 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Junior High Event) Sheets |
1993-1997 |
|
2 |
20 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Lutheran Youth Day) |
1992-1995 |
|
2 |
21 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Misc. Information) |
1950-2004 |
|
2 |
22 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Newspaper Stories) |
1983-1989 |
|
2 |
23 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (News Releases) |
2004-2005 |
|
2 |
24 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Pators Advisory Group) |
1976 |
|
2 |
25 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Senior High Event) Booklets |
1997-2003 |
|
2 |
26 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Sow Bountifully Newsletter) |
1995 |
|
2 |
27 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Spilled Inkwell Newsletter) |
7/1988-8/1994 |
|
2 |
28 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Wartburg Information) |
1983-? |
|
2 |
29 |
Campus Ministry |
Sermons (Trachte, Larry) |
2002 |
|
2 |
30 |
Campus Ministry |
Services (Chapel) |
2007-2011 |
|
2 |
31 |
Campus Ministry |
Service (Epiphany Vespers) |
2/18/2011 |
|
2 |
32 |
Campus Ministry |
Services (Installation) |
1994-1999 |
|
2 |
33 |
Campus Ministry |
Services (Lenten) |
2006-2011 |
|
2 |
34 |
Campus Ministry |
Services (Memorial) |
1950; 1963; 1969 |
|
2 |
35 |
Campus Ministry |
Service (Reformation) |
1925-1983 |
|
2 |
36 |
Campus Ministry |
Service (Thanksgiving) |
1994-2002 |
|
2 |
37 |
Campus Ministry |
Services (Wartburg- Waverly) |
1952-1981 |
|
3 |
1 |
Campus Ministry |
Sharing for Service Grant |
|
|
3 |
2 |
Campus Ministry |
Sharing for Service Participation Form |
2003-2004 |
|
3 |
3 |
Campus Ministry |
Spiritual Emphasis Week Devotional Books |
1985-1997 |
|
3 |
4 |
Campus Ministry |
Spiritual Awareness Week |
1941-2009 |
|
3 |
5 |
Campus Ministry |
Staff Notifications |
1973-2005 |
|
3 |
6 |
Campus Ministry |
A Taste of College |
1992-1994 |
|
3 |
7 |
Campus Ministry |
Vocations |
|
|
3 |
8 |
Campus Ministry |
Vocations (Brochure) |
|
|
3 |
9 |
Campus Ministry |
Vocation Day |
2006 |
|
3 |
10 |
Campus Ministry |
Wartburg Luther League |
1940-1941 |
|
3 |
11 |
Campus Ministry |
Wartburg Visions |
1983-1985 |
|
3 |
12 |
Campus Ministry |
Workshops |
1981-2005 |
|
4 |
1 |
Campus Ministry |
Calendars |
1976-1979 |
|
4 |
2 |
Campus Ministry |
Faculty Preferences |
1974 |
|
4 |
3 |
Campus Ministry |
Pamphlets |
1989-1998 |
|
4 |
4 |
Campus Ministry |
Pamphlets (Summer Program) |
1978-1998 |
|
4 |
5 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations 2003-2004 |
2003-2004 |
|
4 |
6 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Education Partners in Covenant (EPIC) Program |
|
|
4 |
7 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Junior High Event) Booklets |
1997-2002 |
|
4 |
8 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Senior High Event) Pamphlets |
1996-2002 |
|
4 |
9 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Wartburg Information) |
|
|
4 |
10 |
Campus Ministry |
Relations (Waverly) |
2/23/1989 |
|
4 |
11 |
Campus Ministry |
Service (Installation) |
11/28/1994 |
|
4 |
12 |
Campus Ministry |
Spiritual Awareness Week |
1958 |
|
4 |
13 |
Campus Ministry |
Study Tour of Holy Land |
1998 |
|
4 |
14 |
Campus Ministry |
Workshops |
1981-2000 |
|
4 |
15 |
Campus Ministry |
2006 Youth Gathering |
2006 |
|
5 |
1 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award 2012-2013- Ellefson, James |
2013 |
|
5 |
2 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- Graven Family Graven Book Collection |
2013 |
|
5 |
3 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- Henry N. Graven, Helen T. Davis Graven |
1990 |
|
5 |
4 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- Stanley Norman Graven |
1990 |
|
5 |
5 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 1989-1990 Arnold R. Mickleson |
1990 |
|
5 |
6 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 1990-1991 Anne H. Carlsen |
1991 |
|
5 |
7 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 1991-1992 Reinhold Pieper Marxhausen |
1992 |
|
5 |
8 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 1992-1993 William H. Foege |
1991-1993, 2012 |
|
5 |
9 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 1993-1994 Ralston H. Deffenbaugh Jr. |
1994 |
|
5 |
10 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 1994-1995 Weston H. Noble |
1995 |
|
5 |
11 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 1995-1996 James J. Raun |
1995-1996 |
|
5 |
12 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 1996-1997 Henry W. Foster |
1996-1997 |
|
5 |
13 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 1997-1998 Anne Knutson Kanten |
1998 |
|
5 |
14 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 1998-1999 Anna Josephine Mkapa |
1998-1999 |
|
5 |
15 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 1999-2000 John W. Vessey, Jr. |
1999-2000 |
|
5 |
16 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 2000-2001 Neil and Lillian Williams |
2001 |
|
5 |
17 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 2001-2002 William Fintel |
2002 |
|
5 |
18 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 2002-2003 Gaylord Thomas |
2002-2003 |
|
5 |
19 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 2003-2004 Carl F. Schalk |
2004 |
|
5 |
20 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 2004-2005 Dave Scheie |
2004-2005 |
|
5 |
21 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 2005-2006 Robert D. Ray |
2005-2006 |
|
5 |
22 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- K.D. Briner 2006-2007 |
2006-2007 |
|
5 |
23 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- January 29, 2009 Robert F. Kennedy Jr. |
2009 |
|
5 |
24 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 2009-2010 Lane Shetterly |
2010 |
|
5 |
25 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 2010-2011 Dr. Jane Kelley Rodeheffer |
2011 |
|
5 |
26 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 2011-2012 Kenneth Inskeep |
2011-2012 |
|
5 |
27 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 2013-2014 Michael Browne |
2014 |
|
5 |
28 |
Campus Ministry |
Graven Award- 2016-2017 Bruce Weber |
2016 |
|
6 |
1 |
Campus Ministry |
L'Chaim- Peter Sethre |
1985, 1987, 1989, 1994 |
|
6 |
2 |
Campus Ministry |
|
1993 |
|
6 |
3 |
Campus Ministry |
L'Chaim |
1992 |
|
6 |
4 |
Campus Ministry |
L'Chaim & N.E. Iowa Synod |
1990, 1982, 1988-1989 |
|
6 |
5 |
Campus Ministry |
|
1984, 1986-1993 |
|
6 |
6 |
Campus Ministry |
|
1985, 1989, 1993-1995, 1999 |
|
7 |
1 |
Campus Ministry |
Henry N. Graven Scrapbook |
1962-1963 |
Container Listing
|
Format |
Series |
Content |
Date |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Tape 1 |
n.d. |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Tape 4 |
n.d. |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Tape 3 |
n.d. |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Tape 2 |
n.d. |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Task Force #2 |
7/23/1999 |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Task Force #1 |
7/23/1999 |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Task Force #3 |
7/23/1999 |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Task Force |
10/15/1999 |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Task Force #2 |
10/15/1999 |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Task Force #1 |
10/15/1999 |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Task Force #7 |
7/23/1999 |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Task Force #6 |
7/23/1999 |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Task Force #5 |
7/23/1999 |
|
Cassette |
A/V |
Church Task Force #4 |
7/23/1999 |
Other Finding Aids
None.
|
Invest in Wartburg College Archives' future
|
 |
Kay Grigsby, MSLIS |
Vogel Library, Wartburg College | 100 Wartburg Blvd, Waverly, IA, 50677 | Phone: 319-352-8500 | Email: asklibrarian@wartburg.edu
