LibGuides: Wartburg College Archives: Academic Advising

Wartburg College Archives

Finding Aid

Campus Offices – Academic Advising Collection

Preface

The Wartburg College Archives is responsible for the collection and preservation of records that document the college’s history, development, operation, policies, people, activities, and events.

The Archives is committed to providing access to holdings. However, access to some items may be restricted by their fragile condition or by contractual agreement with the donors, and it may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-print materials. In such circumstances arrangements may have to be made for digital duplication or transfer to occur before access can be provided.

Introduction

Abstract: Records (1936-2013) of Wartburg’s academic advising, including records of Berefung participants, Career Services, Counseling Services, Learning Resource Center, Pathways Center, and Wartburg’s substance abuse policies.

Scope and Content Note

Extent: 18 boxes.

Physical Description: All materials are paper.

Dates: 1936-2013.

Subjects: Advising, Academics, Berefung, Career, Substance Abuse, Sexuality

Related Material:

Health Services Collection
Vogel Library Collection
Registrar’s Office Collection
Academic Affairs Collection

Administrative Information

Restrictions: None.

Preferred Citation: [item title/description], [date]; [Academic Advising]; Wartburg College Archives, Waverly, Iowa.

Acquisition Information: Transfer.

Processing Information: Processing completed by SY and LY on 4/1/2019.

Biographical Sketch/Agency History

History: Wartburg’s academic advising is coordinated by the Pathways Center in the Vogel Library. The service provides a faculty adviser to help students with academic advising, choosing majors, graduate school, etc.

Wartburg’s career services is also located in the Pathways Center in Vogel Library. Career services provides students with career resources, employer resources, alumni career resources, advising, as well as someone to review résumés.

The Counseling Services at Wartburg provide students with short-term professional counseling as well as self-help resources. Counseling Services offer many programs including personal counseling, testing, self-management skills, multicultural issues, substance abuse recovery, sexual assault, crisis, safety education, and various support groups. Counseling Services is located in the Pathways Center in Vogel Library.

The Pathways Center assist students in their academic journey and goals. Various programs are available to help students in many different areas of their academic career. The Pathway’s Center is located on the third floor of the Vogel Library.

Bibliography:

Academic Support Services. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://catalog.wartburg.edu/content.php?catoid=4&navoid=194

Career Services. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.wartburg.edu/career-services/

Pathways Center (Advising). (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.wartburg.edu/pathways/

Counseling Services. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.wartburg.edu/counseling/

Series Description

Academic Advising
Berefung
Career Services
Counseling and Assessment
Learning Resource Center
Pathways Center
Substance Abuse

Academic Advising:

Records of academic advising. Dates from 1945-2011.
1 box.
Arranged by content and thereunder chronologically by date.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
1	1	Academic Advising	Academic Advising
1	2	Academic Advising	Advising Newsletter	01/2011
1	3	Academic Advising	Calendar of Advising
1	4	Academic Advising	Evaluation of Academic Advising	1/3/1994
1	5	Academic Advising	Forms
1	6	Academic Advising	Graduate/Law School Advising
1	7	Academic Advising	National Academic Advising Association Outstanding Advisor Award	1995-1996
1	8	Academic Advising	Responsibilities	1950
1	9	Academic Advising	Academic Advising 1940's	1945-1948
1	10	Academic Advising	Academic Advising 1950's	1956
1	11	Academic Advising	Academic Advising 1960's	1960-1969
1	12	Academic Advising	Advising 1970-1971	1970-1971
1	13	Academic Advising	Advising 1971-1972	1971-1972
1	14	Academic Advising	Advising 1972-1973	1972-1973
1	15	Academic Advising	Advising 1973-1974	1973-1974
1	16	Academic Advising	Advising 1974-1975	1974-1975
1	17	Academic Advising	Advising 1976-1977	1976-1977
1	18	Academic Advising	Advising 1977-1978	1977-1978
1	19	Academic Advising	Advising 1978-1979	1978-1979
1	20	Academic Advising	Advising 1982-1983	1982-1983
1	21	Academic Advising	Advising 1983-1984	1983-1984
1	22	Academic Advising	Advising 1985-1986	1985-1986
1	23	Academic Advising	Advising 1986-1987	1986-1987
1	24	Academic Advising	Advising 1990's	1994-1996
1	25	Academic Advising	Intercultural Certification or Registrar	2/18/1993

Berefung:

Records of Berefung including participants from 1978-1981. Dates from 1975-1981
5 boxes.
Arranged by content and thereunder chronologically by date. Participants are arranged alphabetically by last name.

No Container Listing

Career Services:

Records from Wartburg’s Career Services, including reports and placement graduates. Dates from 1936-2011.
6 boxes.
Arranged by alphabetically by subject and thereunder chronologically by date.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
7	1	Career Services	CDC
7	2	Career Services	Academic Record Forms	1993-2003
7	3	Career Services	Alumni Career Network/Alumnet Pamphlets	1993-2005
7	4	Career Services	Alumni Career Network Form	1993-2003
7	5	Career Services	Annual Report 1980-1981	1980-1981
7	6	Career Services	Annual Report 1981-1982	1981-1982
7	7	Career Services	Annual Report 1983-1984	1983-1984
7	8	Career Services	Annual Report 1984-1985	1984-1985
7	9	Career Services	Calendar 1998-1999	1998-1999
7	10	Career Services	The Calling	1987-1995
7	11	Career Services	Career Fair	1986-2003
7	12	Career Services	News/Career News	1991-1998
7	13	Career Services	Newsletter	1978-1983
7	14	Career Services	Career Planning and Placement Newsletter	1976-1977
7	15	Career Services	Credential File Information	1996-2003
8	1	Career Services	Entry Level Positions of Wartburg Graduates	1978-1982
8	2	Career Services	General Information Sheets	1995-1997
8	3	Career Services	Graduate Questionnaire	1994-2007
8	4	Career Services	Graduate School Information	1994-1999
8	5	Career Services	Graduate Status Report	1993
8	6	Career Services	Graduate Status Report	1996
8	7	Career Services	Graduate Status Report	1997
8	8	Career Services	Graduate Status Report	1998
8	9	Career Services	Graduate Status Report	1999
8	10	Career Services	Graduate Status Report	2000
8	11	Career Services	Graduate Status Report	2000-2001
9	1	Career Services	Information Sheet	1976-1987
9	2	Career Services	Internships	1990-1997
9	3	Career Services	Interview Opportunity Sheets	1990-2003
9	4	Career Services	Interview Pamphlets	1993-2000
9	5	Career Services	Iowa Private College Placement Consortium	1996-1999
9	6	Career Services	Job Hunting	3/13/2002
9	7	Career Services	Job Search Information	1978-1997
9	8	Career Services	Job Search and Interviewing Handbook	1993-1998
9	9	Career Services	Job Search Information Education Graduates	1976
9	10	Career Services	Job Search Information Liberal Arts Graduates	1976
10	1	Career Services	Letters of Recommendation Sheets	1993-2003
10	2	Career Services	Meal Etiquette Dinner	2000-2001
10	3	Career Services	Networking	2011
10	4	Career Services	New Student Questionnaire, Reports, Evaluation	1993-1996
10	5	Career Services	Off-Campus Employment Data Sheet	1996-1998
10	6	Career Services	On-Campus Recruiting Request Form	2000-2001
10	7	Career Services	Pamphlets	1975-1998
10	8	Career Services	Peer Counselor Pamphlets	1981-1984
10	9	Career Services	Personnel	1987-1990
10	10	Career Services	Philosophy Statement Forms	1996-2003
10	11	Career Services	Placement Bureau	1936, 1975
10	12	Career Services	Placement Evaluations 1968	1968
10	13	Career Services	Placement Manual	1979
10	14	Career Services	Placement 1969 Graduates	1968-1969
10	15	Career Services	Placement 1970 Graduates	1969-1970
10	16	Career Services	Placement 1971 Graduates	1970-1971
10	17	Career Services	Placement 1972 Graduates	1971-1972
10	18	Career Services	Placement 1973 Graduates	1972-1973
10	19	Career Services	Placement 1974 Graduates	1973-1974
11	1	Career Services	Placement 1975 Graduates	1974-1975
11	2	Career Services	Placement 1975-1976	1975-1976
11	3	Career Services	Placement Survey 1976-1977	1976-1977
11	4	Career Services	Placement Survey 1977-1978	1977-1978
11	5	Career Services	Placement Survey 1977-1978 updated	1977-1978
11	6	Career Services	Placement Survey 1978-1979	1978-1979
11	7	Career Services	Placement Survey 1979-1980	1979-1980
11	8	Career Services	Placement Survey 1981 Graduates	1980-1981
11	9	Career Services	Placement Survey 1982 Graduates	1981-1982
11	10	Career Services	Placement Survey 1983 Graduates	1982-1983
11	11	Career Services	Placement Survey 1984 Graduates	1983-1984
11	12	Career Services	Placement Survey 1985 Graduates	1984-1985
11	13	Career Services	Placement 1985-1986	1985-1986
11	14	Career Services	Placement Report 1987-1988	1987-1988
11	15	Career Services	Placement 1990's	1990
11	16	Career Services	Placement 2006-2007	2006-2007
11	17	Career Services	Position Vacancies	1986-1987
11	18	Career Services	Programs and Services	1991-2001
12	1	Career Services	Recruiter Guides	1981-1998
12	2	Career Services	Resume and Correspondence Handbooks	1995-2002
12	3	Career Services	Resume and Correspondence for Teachers Booklets	1993-2009
12	4	Career Services	Schedule of Events	1999-2002
12	5	Career Services	Surveys	1994
12	6	Career Services	Transition: College to Career Handbooks	1991-1994
12	7	Career Services	Workshops	1981-1996

Counseling and Assessment Center:

Records of the Counseling and Assessment Center, including annual reports, memos, and brochures. Dates from 1953-1999.
2 boxes.
Arranged alphabetically by subject.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
13	1	Counseling and Assessment Center	Counseling and Assessment Center	1953-1989
13	2	Counseling and Assessment Center	Brochures	1998
13	3	Counseling and Assessment Center	Counseling Contract	1995-1996
13	4	Counseling and Assessment Center	Memos	1996
13	5	Counseling and Assessment Center	Newsletter	1993-1999
13	6	Counseling and Assessment Center	Tip Sheets	1994-1997
13	7	Counseling and Assessment Center	"Toilet Talk"	1998-1999
13	8	Counseling and Assessment Center	Workshops	1993-1996
13	9	Counseling and Assessment Center	Annual Report 1981-1982	1981-1982
13	10	Counseling and Assessment Center	Annual Report 1980-1981	1980-1981
13	11	Counseling and Assessment Center	Annual Report 1982-1983	1982-1983
14	1	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality Issues Gables	1993-1994, 1997
14	2	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality Issues Hepatitis B	1995-1996
14	3	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality Issues HIV/AIDS	1996-1998
14	4	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality Issues Human Sexuality Week	1984, 1992
14	5	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality Issues Rape	1990, 1993-1994, 1996-1997
14	6	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality Issues Sexual Harassment Hearing Committee	3/1996, 4/1996, 9/1997
14	7	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality Issues Sexual Harassment Policy	1994-1996
14	8	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality Issues Sexual Harassment Student Policy 1995-1996	1995-1996
14	9	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality Issues Sexual Misconduct Policy and Procedures March 28, 1994	1994
14	10	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality Issues Sexual Misconduct Prevention	1996-1997, 2005-2006
14	11	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality Issues Sexual Orientation	1997
14	12	Counseling and Assessment Center	Sexuality SMART	1993-2001, 2006

Learning Resource Center:

Records from the Learning Resource Center, including annual reports. Dates from 1980-1991.
1 box.
Arranged chronologically by date.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
15	1	Learning Resource Center	Annual Report 1980-1981	1980-1981
15	2	Learning Resource Center	Annual Report 1981-1982	1981-1982
15	3	Learning Resource Center	Annual Report 1982-1983	1982-1983
15	4	Learning Resource Center	Annual Report 1983-1984	1983-1984
15	5	Learning Resource Center	Faculty Correspondence	1981-1987
15	6	Learning Resource Center	Referral Forms
15	7	Learning Resource Center	Newspaper Articles	1989
15	8	Learning Resource Center	Newsletters	1986-1988
15	9	Learning Resource Center	Tutor Handbook	1988
15	10	Learning Resource Center	Brochures and Fliers	1985-1991

Pathways Center:

Records from Pathways Center including annual reports, first year experience, and miscellaneous. Dates from 1993-2013.
2 boxes.
Arranged by content.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
16	1	Pathways Center	Pathways Center	1995-2002
16	2	Pathways Center	Brochures	1995-2010
16	3	Pathways Center	College Achievement Program	2005-2006
16	4	Pathways Center	College Major Preference Profile	1999
16	5	Pathways Center	Counseling Services	1999-2003
16	6	Pathways Center	Counseling Services Annual Report 2003-2004	2003-2004
16	7	Pathways Center	Counseling Services Annual Report 2004-2005	2004-2005
16	8	Pathways Center	Counseling Services Annual Report 2005-2006	2005-2006
16	9	Pathways Center	Suicide Prevention Program	2012
17	1	Pathways Center	Etiquette Dinner	2000-2001
17	2	Pathways Center	First Year Experience (FYE)	1993-1998
17	3	Pathways Center	First Year Experience (FYE) Alpha Seminar	1994-1995
17	4	Pathways Center	First Year Experience (FYE) First Year Hall?
17	5	Pathways Center	First Year Experience (FYE) Events	2000-2003
17	6	Pathways Center	First Year Experience (FYE) Newsletter	1995-1997
17	7	Pathways Center	First Year Experience (FYE) Newsletter	1999-2002
17	8	Pathways Center	First Year Experience (FYE) Newsletter	2002-2006
17	9	Pathways Center	First Year Experience (FYE) Newsletter	2006-2008
17	10	Pathways Center	First Year Experience (FYE) Parents Information	1995-2003
17	11	Pathways Center	First Year Experience (FYE) ROPES	1998-2005
17	12	Pathways Center	First Year Experience (FYE) Workshops	1995-2000
17	13	Pathways Center	General	2005-2006
17	14	Pathways Center	Internships	1994-2002
17	15	Pathways Center	Learning Disabilities
17	16	Pathways Center	Personnel	2006
17	17	Pathways Center	Summer Knights	2013
17	18	Pathways Center	Supplemental Instruction	1993-1997
17	19	Pathways Center	Supplemental Instruction Leader Manual	1995-1996
17	20	Pathways Center	Testing Services	1993-2003
17	21	Pathways Center	Writing/Reading/Speaking Lab	1999-2010
17	22	Pathways Center	vocation and mentoring newsletter, V1, Issue 1

Substance Abuse:

Records of Wartburg’s substance abuse policies. Dates from 1970-1999.
1 box.
Arranged by content.

Container Listing

Box	Folder	Series	Content	Date
18	1	Substance Abuse	Alcohol Policy	1972-1988
18	2	Substance Abuse	Alcohol Related Fliers and Pamphlets	1993-1999
18	3	Substance Abuse	Articles	1989-1991
18	4	Substance Abuse	Drug Free Policy	1970-1994
18	5	Substance Abuse	Hazing Policy	1988
18	6	Substance Abuse	Smoking Policy	1988-1995
18	7	Substance Abuse	Surveys and Agreements	1988-1994

Other Finding Aids

None.