Skip to Main Content
Evaluation: Three questions
What is it? Why do I care? What does it really say?
You answer these three questions every time you use a source, whether you know it or not.
- Whether it is a website or a scholarly journal article...
- Whether it is for a 1st-year course or real life...
Start noticing how you answer these questions to ensure your sources are really meeting your needs.
The Three Questions:
- What is it: What is the source type and author credibility?
- Quick Wikipedia checks are okay! You can also compare what other source say about that source.
- Why do I care: Does the source type and author credibility meet your needs?
- Decide this at the beginning so you know whether to read the material or find something better.
- What does it really say: Perceive how the word choices influence the knowledge.
- The author's word choices, included and excluded information, and the aim of the publication all make a difference in how or why you would use a source.
Websites & Search Engines
Encyclopedia of Life
free, online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the 1.9 million living species known to science. It is compiled from existing databases and from contributions by experts and non-experts throughout the world.
The Cell Image Library
A freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across disciplines and sources to locate articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Provides authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
National Library of Medicine
World's largest medical library with more than seven million books, journals, technical reports, manuscripts, microfilms, photographs, and images on medicine and related sciences, including some of the world's oldest and rarest works.
National Science Foundation
US government agency that supports fundamental research and education in all the non-medical fields of science and engineering
NOAA Habitat Conservation
The NOAA Fisheries Office of Habitat Conservation protects, restores, and promotes stewardship of coastal and marine habitat to support our nation's fisheries for future generations. Their website documents their efforts, and is rich with information on these areas.
Searches over 300 free, authoritative science and technology collections
A collection of materials on the history of medicine and the medical humanities. It houses over 2.5 million items of extraordinary range and diversity, including books, films, archives, manuscripts and artworks from around the world.
ICUN Red List of Threatened Species This link opens in a new window
Taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants, fungi and animals that have been globally evaluated to determine the relative risk of extinction.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Vogel Library, Wartburg College | 100 Wartburg Blvd, Waverly, IA, 50677 | Phone: 319-352-8500 | Email: firstname.lastname@example.org