Published by the Heritage Foundation in cooperation with the Wall Street Journal, the Index of Economic Freedom is a practical reference guide to the economies of 161 countries, with detailed information about economic policy.
The IEA is an autonomous organisation which works to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for its 29 member countries and beyond. The IEA's four main areas of focus are: energy security, economic development, environmental awareness, and engagement worldwide.
This site, from the International Monetary Fund, provides information on economic, financial and socio-demographic data disseminated by countries participating in the GDDS. Current statistical practices of each country are described, together with their plans to improve their statistical systems.
The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database is created during the biannual WEO exercise, which begins in January and June of each year and results in the April and September WEO publication. See also, the World Economic Outlook Reports.
Compiled by a global team of passionate stat geeks, this site is dedicated to the mission of bringing facts to the world of geopolitics, economics, geography, defense and culture. It includes data from hundreds of sources and aspires to be the web’s one-stop resource for country statistics on everything from obesity to murders.
This site from the University of North Texas links to an astounding number of statistical and data sites, many created by university faculty in conjunction with their research and teaching roles. Categories include General International Relations, International Conflict and Cooperation, International Economic, International Social, International Political, International Environmental.
Poverty Assessments (PA) are key instruments of the World Bank's poverty reduction strategy. They are designed to assess the extent and causes of poverty in a given country and to propose a strategy to ameliorate its effects.
Provides access to UIS.Stat database, which contains all the latest available data and indicators, for education, literacy, science, technology and innovation, as well as culture. It also contains updated country and regional profiles, global rankings and other interactive tools.
Social indicators covering a wide range of subject-matter fields are compiled by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat, from many national and international sources.
Compiles statistics from many international sources and produces global updates, including the Statistical Yearbook, World Statistics Pocketbook and yearbooks in specialized fields of statistics. Unrestricted free access is provided to selected global datasets, such as the Millennium Indicators Database.
USAID is the lead U.S. Government agency that works to end extreme global poverty and enable resilient, democratic societies to realize their potential. USAID's Economic Analysis and Data Services (EADS) are technical and professional support services to facilitate USAID's access to and analysis of development data and information.
The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) compiles, disseminates, validates, and analyzes a wide variety of data captured from various sources detailing trade trends, movement of goods by land, sea, and air, and personal travel.
An analysis and visualisation tool from the World Bank that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
The "World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers" (WMEAT) series of reports is designed to be a convenient reference on annual military expenditures, arms transfers, armed forces, selected economic data, and relative indicators consisting of pertinent military-economic ratios.
The World of Statistics—the successor to the highly successful International Year of Statistics (Statistics2013) campaign celebrated in 2013—is a global network of more 2,350 organizations worldwide committed to: 1-Increasing public awareness of the power and impact of statistics on all aspects of society 2-Nurturing statistics as a profession, especially among young people 3-Promoting creativity and development in the sciences of probability and statistics
Using national and international sources, this database from Statistical, Economic and Social Research and Training Centre for Islamic Countries (SESRIC) provides data on 313 socio-economic variables under 19 categories for the 57 OIC Member Countries dating back to 1970.
Links to hundreds of authoritative sites for developing countries, in the areas of: agriculture, environment, poverty, education, gender, health & population, governance, trade, economics, aid, microcredit, and security.
Established in 1959, IDB is the leading source of development financing for Latin America and the Caribbean. Partnering with clients, the IDB seeks to eliminate poverty and inequality, and promotes sustainable economic growth. The Bank has compiled and organized over 1,000 searchable statistics and indicators for countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, creating a comprehensive dataset for the region.
This database is associated with the UNICEF MONEE project on the living conditions of children and adolescents in Central and Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States (CEE/CIS). It
captures a vast range of data relevant to social and economic issues that affect the well-being of children, young people and women.
ESCAP works to improve the use of statistics for evidence-based decision-making and to develop and disseminate quality statistics for inclusive, sustainable and resilient societies in the ESCAP region.
Since 1984, The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has provided technical assistance to more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries, advancing global understanding of health and population trends in developing countries.
In a single electronic platform, the WHO’s Communicable Disease Global Atlas is bringing together for analysis and comparison standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels.
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products. For over 60 years, the Census Bureau has performed international analytical work and assisted in the collection, processing, analysis, dissemination, and use of statistics with counterpart governments in over 100 countries.
This paper, from The Population Index in 1997, provides a description of demographic resources available on the Internet. Some of the links will now be dead or changed, but it describes a wide variety of options to investigate.
Population Index was the primary reference tool to the world's population in books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. The database covers 1986-2000, and the complete journal collection going back to the 1930s is available in JSTOR.
UNFPA works in more than 150 countries and territories that are home to the vast majority of the world’s people. Its mission: to ensure that every pregnancy is wanted, every childbirth is safe and every young person’s potential is fulfilled.
UNHCR contributes to coordination and informed decision-making in refugee operations by providing statistical reports on the people of concern to UNHCR: refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, the internally displaced and stateless people.
Facilitates access to information on population trends and their interrelationships with social and economic development as an input to government policy and program formulation. The official United Nations demographic estimates and projections are prepared for all countries and areas of the world.