LibGuides: History Courses & Research: Articles

Databases and Journals Relevant to Historical Research

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
US and Canadian topics--prehistory to the present. Scholarly; some full-text.
European Views of the Americas 1493 - 1750 This link opens in a new window
Guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
AAS Historical Periodicals Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Digitized American journals published from the late 17th century through the late 19th century. Provides rich content detailing American history and culture, including advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text academic journals, books, and primary sources (usually excludes the past 2-5 years).
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, video and primary sources from 1970 to the present. Includes ProQuest Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Academic Complete, and Academic Video Online.
Arts & Humanities This link opens in a new window
Covers Art, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre, and Cultural Studies.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
News content from newspapers, newswires, magazines, and radio and television transcripts.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full-text for sociology and social work journal articles, books, and conference papers.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion and theology. Some full-text.

We have subscribed to several excellent history journals in print over the years. While we no longer subscribe to any journal in print, we do still subscribe directly to some online, and we still have the back issues of everything we subscribed to on the Periodicals shelves on the 1st floor.

A few examples of journals with back issues on the shelves:

Annals of Iowa - State Historical Society of Iowa
- Now available online!
Concordia Historical Institute Quarterly
Current History
History Today
Journal of Southern History
Prologue