LibGuides: Film Courses &amp; Research: Background on film topics

Background on film topics

Background in print encyclopedias and databases

Film sources are scattered among the 790's (entertainment), the 800's (when considered as "literature" of a certain culture), and other areas. Could be in Reference, General Stacks, or Oversize (all on the 1st floor). This is what you'll get in these encyclopedias:

Lists of films
Overviews and critical receptions of films
Context of films in history and society
Keyword ideas
Background info
Source recommendations

Top print film encyclopedias:

Schirmer encyclopedia of film
Call Number: Ref 791.4303 Sch35, 2007
This is a four-volume set that will be most useful for looking up film terms--several pages on each term. Scan or photocopy the pages you need.
The film encyclopedia
Call Number: 1st floor 791.43 K159
Cinema Studies: the key concepts
Call Number: 1st floor 791.4303 H335

Film topics and definitions are also in encyclopedia databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 1,000 reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc).
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Reference articles, photographs, maps, and more, all produced in collaboration with experts, scholars, and educators under rigorous editorial review.

Mining Encyclopedia Entries - An Advanced Skill

Watch the video linked below to learn the advanced search strategy of mining encyclopedia entries.

Mining Encyclopedia Entries video link

Film Courses & Research

Your Humanities & Business Librarian

Background on film topics

Background in print encyclopedias and databases

Top print film encyclopedias:

Film topics and definitions are also in encyclopedia databases

Mining Encyclopedia Entries - An Advanced Skill