Skip to main content
Wartburg College homepage  

Never Let Me Go: Knight Reading, 2018-2019: Never Let Me Go
by Kazuo Ishiguro

Knight Reading, 2018-19

Kazuo Ishiguro

Kazuo Ishiguro in 2005, from a 2008 Paris Review article

2017 Nobel Prize for Literature winner and Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) Kazuo Ishiguro (November 8, 1954 - ) is a Japanese-born British novelist. Remains of the Day (1989) and Never Let Me Go (2005) are his most well-known works to date. His other works vary in style from the serene to the experimental of The Unconsoled (1995) to a mysterious tale set in Arthurian time (The Buried Giant, 2015), and from the setting of post-war Japan to Britain of many times, including alternate. Ishiguro has also written screenplays for British television as well as for the feature films The Saddest Music in the World (2003) and The White Countess (2005).

Knight Reading / Readings in Common

A common 1Y reading program began at Wartburg College in 2003, although it wasn't officially called  “Readings in Common” until 2005. It was renamed "Knight Reading" in 2015.

Recent books are listed below.

  • 2017-18 Martin Luther: A Very Short Introduction, Scott H. Hendrix
  • 2016-17  I am Malala, Malala Yousafzai
  • 2015-16  The Other Wes Moore, Wes Moore
  • 2014-15   Brave New World, Aldous Huxley
  • 2013-14   The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Rebecca Skloot
  • 2012-13   An Ordinary Man, Paul Rusesabagina
  • 2011-12   The Complete Persepolis, Marjane Satrapi
  • 2010-11   Animal Dreams, Barbara Kingsolver
  • 2009-10   Ishmael, Daniel Quinn
  • 2008-09   The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down, Anne Fadiman
  • 2007-08   Three Cups of Tea, Greg Mortenson
  • 2006-07   The Chosen, Chaim Potok    
  • 2005-06   Frankenstein, Mary Shelley
  • 2004-05   A Hope in the Unseen, Ron Suskind  
  • 2003-04   Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, J.K. Rowling