LibGuides: Archives of Iowa Broadcasting: Home

Search across all AIB collections in our newly available online catalog.

The Archives of Iowa Broadcasting was founded in 1994 by Grant Price (1922-2008). Price was a long time television and radio broadcaster, with the largest part of his career at KWWL in Waterloo, IA. After his retirement from the field of broadcasting, he went on to teach at Wartburg College and founded the television broadcasting program there. During his time at Wartburg, Price determined that much of the history of radio and television in Iowa was being lost, and started the Iowa Broadcasting Oral History Project which led to the creation of the AIB.

The AIB has been located at Wartburg College for almost 30 years, and in 2021, thanks to an endowment by David McCartney and James Petersen, the first Grant Price Endowed Archivist, Kay Grigsby, was hired to care for the collections.

Mission

The Archives of Iowa Broadcasting establishes and maintains a permanent collection of materials relating to the history, development and contribution of radio and television in Iowa.

National Advisory Board Members

Julie Price Barnd- Marion, IA

Cliff Brockman (Co-Chair)- Associate Professor Emeritus, Wartburg College

Rick Coleman- Sports Director, KWWL

Tony Coloff- Vice President of Programming, Coloff Media

Carole Custer- Director of the Office of University Marketing, Iowa State University

Sue Danielson- Assistant News Director, WHO Radio

Ray Dennis- Retired Broker

John Huff- General Manager, KWWL

David McCartney- University Archivist, University of Iowa

Steve Noah- Clive, IA

Paul Yeager (Co-chair)- Producer/Director/Host, Iowa Public Television

Location:

Third floor of Vogel Library on the campus of Wartburg College.

Hours:

AIB and Wartburg College Archives are currently open by appointment only

Contact:

Kay Grigsby, MSLIS
Grant Price Endowed Archivist
kay.grigsby@wartburg.edu
(319) 352-8457

Research and Duplication Fees

Fee Table

Archival Use Guidelines

Archival materials are, by their nature, rare, often irreplaceable, and sometimes fragile. The following precautions have been instituted to ensure these objects are protected:

To Safeguard Collections, do not:

Bring food or drink into the Archives
Use pens or ink
Remove any records from the Reference Room
Mark, annotate or rearrange original records in any way

Reading Room Etiquette:

Store all backpacks, computer cases, handbags, coats and other personal belongings
Be considerate of others using space and refrain from loud or unnecessary conversation
Do not enter “Staff Only” areas

Careful Handling of Records:

Please ensure your hands are clean and free from lotions
Do not lean on, or trace from any records or use them as a support for writing
If you need to flag a page, paper will be provided to use as a bookmark
Please maintain the existing order of items in folders and document boxes. Documents must not be marked, rearranged, or removed from their covers
Inform staff if you wish to request copies of items. You may use your own camera, or staff can photocopy or digitize items for you (fees may apply)

NOTE: It may not be possible at all times to provide appropriate machinery for reading, viewing or accessing non-print materials. We recommend you contact the Archives prior to your visit to ensure the materials you want to view are available.

Collection Guidelines

The Archives of Iowa Broadcasting collects audiovisual materials, papers, publications, photographs, artifacts and memorabilia related to television and radio broadcasting in Iowa.

Records can include audiovisual recordings, oral history interviews, corporate records, records of professional organizations, photographs and scrapbooks, schedules and log sheets, and promotional materials and artifacts.

If you aren't sure whether your materials fit our collecting focus, read our Collection Policy for more detail, or contact the Archivist.

Financial Donations

AIB also accepts financial donations. Your generous gift will help sustain the Archives of Iowa Broadcasting, assuring that this a one-of-a-kind collection will be available to future generations.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting

Provides access to radio and television programs that have been publicly funded throughout the years.

DesMoinesBroadcasting.com

A website dedicated to the history of radio and TV broadcasting in Des Moines and Central Iowa. Experience Des Moines broadcast history in sight and sound! Relive Des Moines radio and Des Moines TV.

Iowa Broadcast News Association

Nonprofit corporation of radio-TV news directors, reporters, producers, public relations professionals and others from Iowa and its adjacent states, working together to improve electronic media news for our stations and the public.

Iowa Broadcasters Association

Radio and Television Stations working to promote, protect and enhance free over-the-air broadcasting.

Library of American Broadcasting

This library strives to preserve and provide access to broadcasting history as a part of the "collective memory" for this ephemeral industry.

Library of Congress Radio Preservation Task Force

RPTF strives to facilitate preservation of, research on, and educational uses of radio recordings held by archiving institutions and private collectors in the United States.

Library of Congress Recorded Sound Research Center

National collection focused on commercial and personal recorded sound materials, including broadcasting.

The Pavek Museum of Broadcasting

Presents and preserves the history of broadcasting, especially in Minnesota. The Museum has gained international recognition for its continuing efforts to preserve and document the history of an industry that has made monumental changes in the fabric of modern life.

Featured Collections