Skip to main content
Wartburg College - 100 Wartburg Blvd. - Waverly, IA 50677

Citation Guide

This guide provides a few examples of how to cite various sources in different citation styles. An explanation of citations is included on the first tab.

Citing the Bible, Chicago Style

The 16th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has a list of Bible abbreviations at 10.45-52 (p510-514).  It also has a section on Scriptural References (14.252-255), p757-8.

  • Parenthetical or note references to the Bible should include book (in roman and usually abbreviated), chapter, and verse—never a page number.
  • A colon is used between chapter and verse.
  • Use of periods depends on if a shorter form is used (see 10.45-52)
  • Consult with your instructor about which type of abbreviation to use, traditional or shorter.
  • Example of traditional abbreviations:  (1Thess. 4:11, 5:2-5, 5:14) 
  • Example of shorter abbreviation:  (1 Chro 10:13-14) 
  • Since books and numbering are not identical in different versions, it is essential to identify which v
  • References appear in text citations or notes rather than bibliographies.
  • ersion is being cited. 
  • Example for first citing:   2 Kings 11:8 (New Revised Standard Version).
  • Subsequent citations can abbreviate the version (NRSV).

Chicago Examples for Bible Dictionaries & Commentaries

Note: These are Turabian examples, and Chicago examples will either be exactly the same or only slightly different.

CITING BIBLE DICTIONARIES:

Cite your DICTIONARY using the following format: 

Author of article (last name first).  "Article Title."  Dictionary Name Volume Number:first page of article–last page of article.  Edited by by First Name Last Name.  Place: Publisher, date.   

Examples:

Bouzard, Walter C.  “Lamentations.”  The New Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible V:205–215.  Ed. by John H. Hayes.  Nashville:  Abingdon Press, 2007.

Brown, John and Jim Jones. "Transfiguration." Incredibly Scholarly Bible Dictionary 4:333-334.  Ed. Frederick Farkleburger, et al. Waverly: Wartburg Press, 2007.

Helpful hints: 

  • The name of the author of a Bible dictionary article usually appears at the end of the article, often after the bibliography for that article.
  • The editors are usually listed on the title page of the book.
  • The second line of a citation is indented (hanging indent).  It is not possible to show that in these guides.

CITING BIBLE COMMENTARIES:

Cite your MULTI-VOLUME COMMENTARY using the following format: 

Author. Title of Commentary Article. Title of One-Volume or Multi-Volume Commentary followed by volume number and inclusive page numbers of the commentary article. Editor(s) or the entire commentary (if more that one, list the name of the first editor followed by et. al., which means "and other). Place of publication: publisher, date of publication.

Example:

Meyer, Paul. "Romans." The New Interpreter's Bible 11:225-230. Ed. Paul Achtemeier et al. Nashville: Adingdon, 1994.

Helpful hints: 

  • In this kind of commentary, look for the author's name on the first page of the section focused on the biblical book you are studying (not on the first page of the whole book).
  • If your volume covers Genesis through Numbers, the author may be on the first page of the Exodus section.
  • The second line of a citation is indented (hanging indent).  It is not possible to show that in these guides.

Cite your SINGLE-AUTHOR BOOK OR COMMENTARY (not part of a series): 

Gundry, Robert. Matthew, a Commentary on His Literary and Theological Art. Grand Rapids, Michigan: Eerdmans, 1982.

Cite your SINGLE-AUTHOR COMMENTARY that is part of a series:

Craddock, Fred B. Luke (Interpretation). Louisville: John Knox, 1990.