Skip to main content
Wartburg College - 100 Wartburg Blvd. - Waverly, IA 50677

Citation Guide

This guide provides a few examples of how to cite various sources in different citation styles. An explanation of citations is included on the first tab.

Part of a Book in Works Cited, MLA Style

PART OF THE BOOK, MLA

Placeholder example for part of the book—see below for specifics

Last Name, First Name. “Title of Chapter/Essay/Article.” Title of Book. Ed. First Name Last Name. Place of publication: publisher, year. Pg-pg. Medium.

 

*MLA spells out the whole first name where available.

*Title of chapter/essay article in quotes

*Title of Book is italicized.

*Ed. Means editor; if more than one, write Eds. Then write out the full name(s).

*Pg-pg means page number to page number.

*Medium means type of material: Print, Web, DVD, JPEG, etc.

Chapter/essay/

article in a book

Sturm, George. “Music Publishing.” Music Librarianship at the Turn of the Century. Ed. Richard Griscom. Lanham, MD: The Scarecrow Press, Inc, 2000. 66-72. Print.

 

*Note that the author of the chapter/essay/article is listed first, then the title of their chapter/essay article. The book itself is listed in the middle as can be seen.

*The numbers are the page numbers of that chapter.

Chapter/essay in the IS 101 Reader

Jobs, Steve. “Stanford Commencement Speech.” Asking Questions, Making Choices: IS101 Reader. Eds. Neil Martinsen-Burrell and Kathryn Kleinhans. Acton, MA: XanEdu Publishing, 2012. 110-117. Print.

 

*This is the same as the chapter/essay/article in a book category above.

Entry in a dictionary

“Octopod.” The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language. 4th ed. Eds. Joseph P. Pickett et al. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 2000. 1217. Print.

 

*If no author is on the entry, do not list one.

*Include page numbers as for other examples of parts of books.

*This example had more than three editors, so the phrase “et al.” is used.

Entry in a Bible dictionary

Conrad, Edgar. “Satan.” The New Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible. Vol. 5. Eds. Katharine Doob Sakenfeld et al. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 2009. 112-116. Print.

 

*This is the same as the example above for a word dictionary.

Article in a reference book

Richards, Keith and Stephanie Dennison. “Soccer.” Pop Culture Latin America! Eds. Lisa Shaw and Stephanie Dennison. Santa Barbara: ABC Clio, 2005. 82-88. Print.

 

*Note that this is done in the exactly the same format as for the chapter/essay/article in a book.

Article in a Bible commentary

Wright, N.T. “The Letter to the Romans: Introduction, Commentary, and Reflections.” The New Interpreter’s Bible: A Commentary in Twelve Volumes. Vol. X. Eds. Leander E. Keck et al. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 2002. 393-770. Print.

 

*This is the same as the example above for an article in a reference book.

*Although you may only be using the section on a few verses from Romans, you will cite the entire section since it is all written by the same person.

Article from a reference database—considered an ebook file

Gilbert, Courtney. “Visual Arts: 1920-45, Art Outside the Revolutionary Tradition.” Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture. Ed. Michael S. Werner. London: Routledge, 1998. Credo Reference. Web. 20 Feb. 2012.

 

*This is exactly the same as citing from a print source except of course with the addition of information about the digital file type (Credo Reference), Web, and date accessed (this one is the date we accessed it; yours will be different).