Skip to main content
Wartburg College - 100 Wartburg Blvd. - Waverly, IA 50677

Citation Guide

This guide provides a few examples of how to cite various sources in different citation styles. An explanation of citations is included on the first tab.

Part of a Book in Reference List, APA Style

PART OF THE BOOK, APA

Placeholder example for part of the book—see below for specifics

Author, A. A., Author, B.B., & Author, C.C. (year). Title of chapter/essay/article. In D. D. Author (Ed.), Title of whole book (pp-pp.). Place of publication, publisher.

 

*Names are listed with last name comma first initial (first and second initials if available). Ampersand (&) is used to connect to the final author when there are multiple authors.

*Year always comes next in parentheses.

*Then write “In” and the author’s first initial(s) and last name, followed by (Ed.) in parentheses, which stands for editor. Write (Eds.) if there is more than one.

*Title has first word capitalized; no other words are capitalized except for proper nouns and the first word after a colon.

*Title of book comes next; capitalize only the first word and any proper nouns.

*Pay attention to the comma and period placements.

*pp-pp means page number to page number (see examples below).

Chapter/essay/

article in a book

Sturm, G. (2000). Music publishing. In R. Griscom (Ed.), Music librarianship at the turn of the century (pp. 66-72). Lanham, MD: The Scarecrow Press.

 

*Note the placement of everything—the author and title of the chapter is stated, then with the word “In” the information for the whole book is given, including the page numbers of the chapter.

Chapter/essay in the IS 101 Reader

Jobs, S. (2012). “Stanford Commencement Speech.” In N. Martinsen-Burrell & K. Kleinhans (Eds.), Asking questions, making choices: IS101 reader (pp. 110-117). Acton, MA: XanEdu Publishing.

 

*This is the same as the chapter/essay/article in a book category above.

Entry in a dictionary

Octopod. (2000). In J.P. Pickett et al. (Eds.), The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language (4th ed., pp. 1217). Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company.

 

*If no author is on the entry, do not list one.

*Include page numbers as for other examples of parts of books.

*This example had more than three editors, so the phrase “et al.” is used.

*Note the inclusion of the edition number.

Entry in a Bible dictionary

Conrad, E. (2009). Satan. In K. Doob Sakenfeld et al (Eds.), The new interpreter’s dictionary of the Bible (Vol. 5, pp. 112-116). Nashville: Abingdon Press.

 

*This is the same as the example above for a word dictionary.

*Note the inclusion of the volume number.

Article in a reference book

Richards, K. & Dennison, S. (2005). Soccer. In L. Shaw & S. Dennison (Eds.), Pop culture Latin America! (pp. 82-88). Santa Barbara: ABC Clio.

 

*Note that this is done in the exactly the same format as for the chapter/essay/article in a book.

Article from a reference database

Gilbert, C. (1998). Visual arts: 1920-45, art outside the revolutionary tradition. In M. S. Werner (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, society & culture (1998 ed.). [Credo Reference version]. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.wartburg.edu/login?qurl=http %3A%2F%2Fwww.credoreference.com/entry/routmex/visual_arts_1920_45_art_outside_the_revolutionary_tradition

 

*Credo Reference will give you the incorrect citation format for this; you will need to know how to fix it yourself.