Overview Sources acquaint you with your topic, clarify unfamiliar terms or ideas, and usually provide a short bibliography of important sources.
- Encyclopedia Britannica - access through the Databases A-Z page
- CQ Researcher - access through the Databases A-Z page
- Editorial Research Reports; 300.5 Ed4 1969-1991 (precursor to CQ Researcher)
- Fly the Banner High: The Story of Wartburg College Journalism, 1906-199 1; 378.77 K967; also in Archives
- Wartburg College. 1852-1952; a Centennial History; 378.777 Ot8; on permanent reserve
- Wartburg College 1952-1977; 378.777 Ot8 1977; on permanent reserve
- Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II; Ref 909.82 Enl9 1999
- Historic Documents of 1972- (annual to present year); Ref 917.303 H629
- Great Events from History: North American Series; Ref. 970 G798 D
- Album of American History; Ref 973 ALI
- Annals of America; Ref 973 An7 (21 volumes)
- Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century; Ref 973 En 19 1996
- The New Encyclopedia of American Scandal; Ref 973 N42 2001
- African-American History ; Ref 973.0496 Enl9 1998
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture; Ref 973.9 Sa23 2000
- Cold War Culture; Ref 973.92 Sch95
- The Sixties in America; Ref. 973.92 Si97 1999
- The 1960s Counterculture in America ; Ref. 973.923 H282 1999
Chronologies are a type of Fact Source. They tell you when events occurred and what other events were occurring about the same time.
- Editorials on File; Ref 909.82 Ed4 (1970 to the present in reference)
- Facts on File; Ref 909.82 Fl I (1946 to the present year in reference)
- Keesing 's Contemporary Archives: Record of World Events; Ref. 909.82 K25 (1969- )
- The American Years : A Chronology of United States History; Ref 973.02 G914 1999
- Timetables of African-American History; Ref 973.0496 H227 1995
- From Elvis to E-Mail; Ref 973.9 D561 1999
- Columbia Chronicles of American Life; Ref. 973.9 G565 1995
Finding Sources lead you to magazine and newspaper articles on your topic:
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature ; Index 050.16 P78r (1st floor). Also available on FirstSearch since 1983.
- New York Times Index ; Index 070.471 N42 (1st floor). Also available on Lexis-Nexis since 1980.
- America: History and Life; historical coverage of the U.S. from prehistory to the present. Available online under ''Library Resources"then "Finding Sources"then "ABC-Clio History Online.
*This list was made for a course in Winter 2001. The course has not been offered since then, but all books in the collection listed here should still be on the shelves.