LibGuides: Business Research: Industry

Using NAICS

Tip: Many search engines and databases recognize North American Industry Codes (NAICS) assigned to each industry by the U.S. Federal Government. You can look up your industry's NAICS code and then plug it in to BSC or the U.S. Census Bureau. This is a very efficient way to search!

North American Industry Classification System
Use this site to identify a NAICS code by topic keyword.

Databases that offer Industry Information

Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This business database includes company profiles, trade publications, scholarly research, and more—some full-text.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics portal that provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics
Management Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from magazines, trade publications, and top management journals. Provides access to Harvard Business Review.

Trade Associations

Trade associations or organizations are made up of people who work in a certain industry or market. They can be a powerful networking tool and can offer career opportunities as you build your resume. Their websites often include current news, statistics, and industry reports from your field. Some information is free, while membership may offer additional information.

You can often locate the trade organization for your industry through a calculated Google Search. Try searching for your product or industry AND (organization OR association) in a Google Search. There may be trade associations or organizations at different steps in the distribution of merchandise, so watch for those clues on the website.